We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy pizza in the Latin Quarter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rim Cafe

Rim Cafe
38, Rue Saint Severin, 75005 Paris, France (Odeon / Saint-Michel)
Improve this listing
Ranked #5,428 of 13,200 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
Michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Yummy pizza in the Latin Quarter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I have eaten here many times - and I really like it. I've only had the pizza and salad - but both are reasonably priced and delicious. Service was a little slow at times. With all the restaurants in the Latin Quarter - I always go back to this one because I know I will get good food for a good price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    101
    41
    30
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Poor service, food better elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Cafe Rim was on the ground floor of the Hotel we stayed at in Paris and went here one night for dinner as we noticed it was full most nights.

The biggest mistake we made was that we didn't walk out when we saw that the only people inside were tourists (sorry fellow tourists, but food in France is better eaten when in the company of locals - they know where the best places and food are at).

Upon arriving and being seated straight away, we were provided menu's. It took some 15 minutes before a waiter came back to attend to our order, after two attempts at trying to flag a waiter down during this time.

We both ordered pizza's, figuring that it can't be too hard for an Italian restaurant to come up with. Some 50 minutes later and asking several times where our meals had gone, we we finally provided our food.

During this time, a table of younger women were seated next to us after we arrived, ordered at the same time we did and received their meal some 15-25 minutes before we did. Not to mention, the drinks we ordered not turning up until we asked the third time!

I see most of the reviews here are positive and maybe we just scored a waiter on a bad day who wasn't with it and lost our order? Even still - not even checking in with us to see how things were going or if we'd received our food was poor form.

All in all, we were pretty disgusted with this experience and left no tip, which takes a lot for us to do.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown-Warren, OH
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good restaurant in the Latin Quarter!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a neat Italian restaurant in the heart of the Latin Quarter, only a few minutes away from Notre Dame.The food is reasonably priced, and is pretty good. The drinks are good as well; my espresso was fantastic! The service was very nice and everything was clean. Overall a really good restaurant! I recommend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Nice Casual Italian Dinner in the Latin Qtr”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My wife, 2 kids (20yr & 16yr), and I ate here one rainy Wed night. The restaurant was full - but we were seated upstairs immediately. Food was good - but not great. Service was good (slow even by Paris standards) - but not great. It had a festive casual atmosphere. If you are looking for an easy fun italian meal for a reasonable price and aren't in a hurry - this is a good place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good Italian fare. Reasonably priced.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We ate here three nights ... as we were staying at the hotel attached to it. The staff were very friendly ... they seemed all to be Italian ....

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rim Cafe also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Rim Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rim Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.