We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zimmer Cafe

Zimmer Cafe
1, place du Chatelet, 75001 Paris, France (Hôtel-de-Ville)
01 42 36 74 03
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,970 of 13,448 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Hôtel-de-Ville
Launceston
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Simply great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stopped in to get out of the rain, and found the most delicious ham and cheese toasted sandwich. Something so simple turned gourmet.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    150
    30
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Belated review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed nearby at Hotel Brittanique and they recommended we go here for late lunch whilst we waited for our room to be readied for check in. Straight away they treated us as friends, the food was divine and we went there another three times during our stay because we enjoyed it so much. I will caution don't try the AAAA sausage till you know what it is - or risk the laughter from the staff as you struggle to even smell it!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect first night in Paris food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We ate the Zimmer because it was only a few blocks from our hotel and we were hungry and unfamiliar with the area. The Zimmer is in an area with a half dozen restaurants, most with seating both in and outdoor. We were able to get a small table inside, but close to the large windows. We ate a fixed price meal that was unexpectedly good. The service was outstanding. The wine good and very reasonable. The food too was reasonably priced, well prepared and presented. We were very pleased with everything at the Zimmer.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“full of character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

we used this cafe several times because it has Parisian character and a fantastic decor.
it's a busy place- especially when the theatres empty- and there's lots to occupy those who enjoy watching the world go by.
The food was variable- tasty onion soup, delicious creme brulee but the worst artichokes I have ever had (too much in holiday mode to bother complaining- the kitchen must have known the dish was a disaster)
Good coffee and lots of choices for a nightcap. Busy and friendly waiters. Well worth a visit- cafes such as this are disappearing fast.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good place for lunch or dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had both lunch and dinner here on the day we arrived in Paris (lunch because we were hungry and walked by, and dinner because our hotel booked it for us as our first choice was not available) – I enjoyed both meals, but for me lunch was probably the better bet, but my husband really love the duck confit he had for dinner. There is an English menu available, if desired. And for some reason, the afternoon we were there, a zombie convention was happening next door - made for some unique people-watching moments through the window!!! But otherwise, good food, fine service – no complaints! I would eat here again

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zimmer Cafe also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Zimmer Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zimmer Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.