We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, all you need at the right price ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68 Quai De La Seine | 19 Arr., 75019 Paris, France (Buttes Chaumont / La Villette)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #349 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel, all you need at the right price ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Loved this hotel, ok, so it's not quirky and full of character, but it's clean, comfortable and such good value. Room was nice and spacious with a large bathroom and huge shower cubicle. Breakfast was plentiful, but get there early to avoid the rush. Staff were friendly and helpful. Location is great, 3 mins walk away from 2 métro stations. Walked along the canals into centre of Paris which takes about 45mins, walk to Monmatre 30 mins. Only complaint, but this is true of every hotel I've stayed in is there aren't enough plug sockets in the room, and never one by the bed! If you're doing Paris on a budget then this is a great find. I've been to Paris 4 times and this is the best hotel I've stayed in for comparable costs. What.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear client,

The Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de La Villette team would like to thank you for your comment about your recent stay in our hotel. We are very pleased that our hotel is perfect for your needs.

We know that many hotels do not put enough plug sockets or adapters in the room, which is why we do provide for free, English/US adapters at the reception, and other power chargers you might need.

We are looking forward to see you again in our establishment,

Kind regards.

Manuel Lubin - Hotel GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    306
    85
    14
    18
See reviews for
240
219
26
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed on points for one night during our honeymoon. It was a 10 Euro cab ride from Paris East train station where we arrived on an overnight train from Munich. Rooms were not ready so we left our bags and toured Paris. When we returned we discovered we had one of the nicest rooms in the hotel. We were in Room 603 and the room was spotless and clean. We had a small balcony with two chairs overlooking the canal and the dormitory for the City International University (but there wasn't any loud partying). Breakfast was superb and up to European standards. In the afternoon, we watched the locals play bacci in the park. There are two nice cafes across the street. It is also conveniently located a quarter mile from the Riquet subway stop on the #7 line which can whisk you away to anywhere in Paris quickly. It is a very affordable alternative to the Vendome/Opera area of the city. The staff was extremely pleasant with impeccable English language skills and genuinely tried to make everyone's stay in Paris as wonderful as possible. We will return.

Room Tip: 6th floor is the top floor. 603 had a wonderful canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel L, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear ObanSkye,
Thank you very much for your praise of our hotel. Our number one concern is that our guests enjoy a pleasant and truly Parisienne stay with us. We appreciate your taking the time to let us know your feedback. Hope to see you again soon!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Donegal, Ireland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Went to Paris for the weekend and decided to avoid breaking the bank so plumped for this budget-end hotel in the IHG group. It is in a north-eastern district of the city which I would say is mixed with pros and cons. It is on the canal which is nice and is near the Metro so handy to go into city centre (if there is such a thing in Paris - maybe 'centre's' would be more accurate). On the downside - I did not feel entirely safe though maybe this was a wrong impression. Incidentally - petty thieving is reaching epidemic proportions in Paris - I was victim of an attempted robbery at an ATM. Two teenagers tried to jostle me and for a minute got €300 but I got it back after a jostle! Girl who sold us train tickets are Gare du Nord told us to be careful as pick-pocketing in the station was a 'national sport'. Sort it out Gendarmes!

Back to the hotel - it is right on the canal so most rooms had a good view though the stupid decorative cladding spoiled it quite a bit. We were upgraded to the 6th floor of 7 or 8. The room was basic enough as you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express but it was ok. It had a small balcony which was a bonus.

One downside of corridors leading to rooms - clearly as a cost-saving ploy the lighting is triggered by motion sensors. This makes it rather gloomy until they burst into life.

I had a couple of strange experiences at the bar. There were about 20.- 25 Dutch guests and one evening around 11.15pm they headed for the bar. I was heading in the same direction. There seemed plenty of staff not busy doing much else but we were all told it was closed and should go to a pub around the corner as it was open later. Looked like easy revenue turned down to me.

Then next afternoon I went in and asked for a vodka & diet coke. Barman said they had no diet coke or anything similiar, but if I walked to a nearby restaurant I could buy some there. Then one drink later he tells me they had ran out of vodka! Hardly an obscure drink request!

Would I go back? Doubt it to be honest, but then again with the prevalence of petty thieving and a city that needs a good clean, can't see me rushing back to any Paris hotel!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Arthur G,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. I sincerely apologize if we fell below your expectations on many aspects particularly with the condition of the corridors and experience at our bar. Please be assured that your comments will be discussed accordingly with the appropriate departments to consider for enhancements needed in what we can offer.

We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Kind Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed 2 nights in that Hotel in september 2013
I can say it was really terrible
1) rooms are too small
2)receptionist are so rude and they make discrimination directly to me. I was treaten really bad
3)I wanted wake up call, they said ok but there was no wake up call at all
4)There were no water in the room. When I asked for it they said go and get yourself in a real rude way.
5) There is no room service .....
6)Airconditions were not

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear GOZDE_AVDEL,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Paris.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffettAir
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Located on the canal, this location offers a great reprieve from the chaos of downtown Paris. Very quiet and quant neighborhood in a residential setting with great restaurants.

This hotel is also a great location to/from Charles De Gaul as it is not far from the Gare Du Nord Train station. Also, the hotel has easy access to downtown Paris as the underground train is only a couple blocks away.

We will definitely stay here again the next time we are in Paris!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Good location with it being a very short walk to Riquet metro station, close to the canal and close to numerous restaurants. Not bad value for Paris either. Service was good, very efficient check-in by bilingual staff. The room was ok. Comfortable bed, nice clean and spacious bathroom etc. What I didn't like were the lack of central lighting meaning it was generally too dark in the room, only one plug socket, and a really annoying television set up that takes ages to get anywhere - presumable designed to get people to sign up for pay-per-view channels by accident or through frustration. Breakfast was nice - typical French buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear MarkP39,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for any shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

As others have said it is not in the heart of the city, but we had no trouble getting around and was a very good location for touring around Paris. Metro just around the corner and down the street (5 minute walk) Being on the canal was a bonus for us and nice to go for a walk along after dinner at one of the many Cafes at the end of the canal. There are 2 cafes real close to the hotel if you did not want to walk too far. Breakfast was the standard affair, but they really need a better toaster. (2 slice home unit) and sometimes a line for the coffee machine (1 cup at a time) Rooms we thought were perfect for us, plenty of space, bed was medium hard, but the pillows could have been softer for me. All in all I would go there again with no reservations a we thought it was great for the 4 nights we stayed.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the canal with a balcony to sit out on, have a coffee, and listen to the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette

Address: 68 Quai De La Seine | 19 Arr., 75019 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Buttes Chaumont / La Villette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#187 Family Hotel in Paris
#296 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the tranquil waterside setting of the Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette hotel,just 10 minutes by metro from the heart of the city.A striking wood-clad eco-hotel, Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette is proud of its green credentials, solar roof panel & recycling programme. At 23 sq mt, the Guest rooms give you plenty of space to stretch out & relax.The hotel is 30 minutes by train from Charles de Gaulle Airport.And with Riquet metro station just 2 minutes away,it's easy to explore central Paris which is only a 10 minute metro ride from your peaceful waterfront base.Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette is next to Parc de la Villette,a futuristic activity park with gleaming metal sculptures in flower-filled gardens.Relax on the grass listening to live music,or keep the kids entertained with a visit to the Science Museum & screenings of 3D movies.Ask our friendly 24-hr Front Desk staff to suggest their favourite local attractions.Choose the largest of our 7 meeting rooms,with impressive views of the Canal, to host up to 150 delegates. All of our flexible meeting spaces are equipped with wireless Internet. Let us know if you'd like coffee breaks,printing or copying arranged.Unwind with a chilled glass of wine or champagne on the sunny terrace of Bar 68.Then head out for dinner in a typical Parisian brasserie.Our staff are happy to help with recommendations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal De La Villette Hotel Paris
Holiday Inn Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.