We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mauvais rapport quality-price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse to your Saves list
Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   79-81 Avenue du Maine, 75014 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #551 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Mauvais rapport quality-price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

When we checked out of room 309, I mentioned to the receptionist that paying 400€ for a room too small for two people to pass each other in is ridiculous.

She agreed and said that the prices are so high because of all th conferences in Paris.

So, if you want to find a better hotel at a better price, look elsewhere.

And wouldn't it be nice if hotels responded to these comments personally, rather than with an automatic reply that says the same thing whatever the comments?

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camille B, Directeur général at Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Vinghuit,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review.

I'm sorry you were not satisfied with the rates you paid for, and the size of the room.

As it is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and services are superior, we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. Unfortunately, you stayed in the hotel during one of the most expensive period of the year, the 2012 Automobile Show.

Regarding the room size, it appears that room 309 measure 18.80m2. Due to the new French legislation, the minimum size for a 4 stars hotel is 16.00m2.

Once again, I do appreciate you taking the time to share your comments, and hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn for your future travel needs.

Thank you for your understanding,

Regards
,
Camille BOUR-BOUVOT
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    207
    95
    22
    20
See reviews for
107
179
35
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Fab hotel, excellent service, staff cant do enough for you. Hotel is immaculate and we had a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camille B, Directeur général at Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear WilsonParis,

Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding your recent stay in the Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you.

Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn.

Camille BOUR-BOUVOT
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My expectations of this hotel were not great...its near a train station and I didn't know the nieghborhoo. Boy,was I wrong. Simply fantastic. The woman who checked me in for the one night I was able to book there had all the paperwork,she was friendly,showed me where to store my luggage,told me about the neighborhood(shopping centers,groceries,restaurants,pharmacies,convenient transportation).The room was clean,there was a fridge in the room,all the bath amenities I could want. Check out was a breeze.This hotel is a perfect choice for anyone to stay in Paris as a tourist-specially Americans that don't necessary want the quaintness of hotels without elevators and ice machines. I will definitely return. ( and they even have free apples by the door!)

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms that I could see,its a quiet street and the windows are very thick
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camille B, Directeur général at Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Kathleen R,

Thank you for your comments, as we are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature.

Our team is dedicated to offer our guests a unique experience, so your feedback is the best possible reward.

We hope to welcome you again at the Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse,

Regards,

Camille BOUR-BOUVOT
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

The manager and staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was spotless as was the entire hotel. Breakfast was adequate Other hotels in the area were twice as much an evening If i return to paris i will stay there

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camille B, Directeur général at Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Knucklhead,

Many thanks for your comments concerning your stay in our hotel, as it is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations. Your comments are very important to us.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome again during your next stay in Paris,

Kind regards,

Camille BOUR-BOUVOT
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We will definively return. Very nice hotel, modern, superb location, excelent bed and bath. Very good air conditioned. Could not be closer to a metro station ( Gaité). Do not expect large american rooms, but excellent for french standards. Staff also extremely helpful, even higher manegement deeply envolved to assist. Overhall, fantastic experience.
.










Useful review?Thank the reviewer0.

.


Share

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camille B, Directeur général at Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Manoel t,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor, regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse.

Recognition is very important to us and I am delighted to see that you appreciated all our services.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Kindest regards,

Camille BOUR-BOUVOT
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I spent few nights in the Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse celebrating our 40th anniversary. The hotel is a wonderful hotel , and we had an amazing experience staying there. The staffs particularly the general manager and the assistant manager were welcoming and very helpful. The hotel is in “Great location. The entrance to the metro is only few steps from the hotel. With a 3-days metro pass we could easily see all the Paris’s attractions. The room was very clean and well prepared. Breakfast was very good and we had dinner at the restaurant next to the hotel which was better than most outside restaurants. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Paris

Room Tip: Get the direction to the hotel by metro before coming to Paris. You can save money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camille B, Directeur général at Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Warsaw2012,

What a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with your stay at the Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse, and that you enjoyed our services!

Thank you for your positive comments about our team as this is a great source of motivation.

We do hope to see you back soon in Paris!

Kind regards,

Camille BOUR-BOUVOT
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a week. The room was clean, but the housekeeping level was variable each day. We loved the full-sized king bed. It was extremely comfortable and along with the excellent black out curtains and quiet in the hotel we slept very well each night. However, the room (409) is extremely small. Two people canNOT pass on any side of the bed. We were constantly getting out of each other's way and if someone was sitting at the desk, it was extremely difficult to get past them. The room itself has a mini-fridge, which kept items very cold, and a small room safe for valuables. The bathroom was clean and the shower spray strength was adequate. There was both a hand shower spray and a larger rain shower head in the bath/tub. My biggest complaint is the lack of space on the sides of the toilet, which meant my legs were bumping the tub or wall. As in many hotels, there is no exhaust fan in the bathroom and therefore the bathroom steams up when you shower. A peculiar thing was that the shaving mirror attached to the wall was at such a height that you would need to be over 6' tall to use it. Certainly of no use to myself or my wife!

We found all of the front desk staff to be helpful and they all spoke good English. The hotel only serves breakfast and my wife was disappointed that you could not get wine from the bar at night. There is always a bowl of apples at the front door for a quick snack during the day, or night. There is a nice quiet terrace behind the hotel where you can sit for a snack or to read. There is really no other common area to gather.

The hotel is located steps from the Gaite' Metro stop. You need to use Exit 5 (Les Theatres) to come up on the hotel side of the street, not the Avenue du Maine exit. It should be noted that there are 55 steps up to the exit from the metro platform.

The hotel is about a 5 minute walk to the Montparnasse Gare (train station). It is a 15 minute walk to the Denfert-Rochereau Gare, where you can catch an MER train to CDG airport.

There are many restaurants within a 10 to 15 minute walk of the hotel. The Catacombs are about a 15 minute walk from the hotel. The Montparnasse Tower (only skyscraper in Paris), with its observation deck and rooftop terrace is about a 5 to 10 minute walk from the hotel. There is a Starbucks located in the Montparnasse Gare.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camille B, Directeur général at Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear John,

Thank you for this wonderful and detailed review on TripAdvisor!

We are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us and that the service of our team was up to your expectations.

It was a real pleasure to welcome you in Paris and we hope to be able to see you back in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Camille BOUR-BOUVOT
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse

Address: 79-81 Avenue du Maine, 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#250 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#373 Business Hotel in Paris
#423 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Paris Montparnasse Avenue du Maine will open on July 27th, 2007. Located 100 meters away from Montparnasse Train Station, near the metro Gaité. It is the perfect location for Business or Tourism in the heart of the Left bank.Ideally located between the Eiffel Tower and Luxembourg Garden, near Porte de Versailles, the hotel is easy to access. The Holiday Inn Paris Montparnasse Avenue du Maine has been fully renovated in a very modern style, with air conditioning. The WIFI access is free of charge. Our 99 rooms and 1 suite (75% are non smoking) have air conditioning. They are all fitted with LCD TV, Pay TV, minibar, individual safe. Some of them are designed for up to 3 people. They sometimes have a private terrace with a panoramic view.For your meetings, the Holiday Inn Paris Montparnasse Avenue du Maine has 3 major meeting rooms and 1 small room; all illuminated by natural light and can accept up to 80 people. They are air conditioned and are fully equipped with the latest technology (LCD TV, Videoprojecteur ) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Paris
Paris Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.