We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great bistro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Grand Pan

Le Grand Pan
20, rue Rosenwald, 75015 Paris, France
01 42 50 02 50
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,131 of 13,200 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $44 - $74
Cuisines: French, Basque
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Paris, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Recommended by few friends we tried it during our summer time. really great bistro parisian food, wine list is great too, i would recommend it to everyone who wants the true Paris.
good food good service thank you all the team

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    53
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I went with my family and my brother as he lives in Paris the meat was gorgeous but perhaps more vegetables were needed. the place was small and cosy and I think the prices were average for Paris.
We were made to feel very welcome and lots of regulars seemed to pop in too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Highly over rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Although this restaurant was recommended by a friend who had read about it in some travel magazine and had subsequently eaten there, I would not recommend it to anyone. Initially we were impressed with the cozy atmosphere, which quickly turned into a feeling of being a “sardine in a can” once all the tables were filled. The “Pan” in their name apparently does not relate to the cooking utensils, but rather how I would rate this establishment. Service was initially attentive, until all the “locals” arrived, and then it was hard to get the attention of the waiters. The menu was limited but looked enticing. That feeling ended with I looked at the table next to me (2 inches between tables, so you had to move table to get in and out of your seat) and saw a skinny little dog sitting on the lap of the person next to me with his (the dog’s, that is) paws on the table. At that point I was ready to leave, but we had already placed our order so we stayed. None of our 3 dinners were very tasty by any standard, so I don’t know how this place got any recognition in the media. With the thousands of restaurants in Paris, I would not return to this one.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great first dinner in Paris!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My brother had found this restaurant on another website, and I'm so glad he booked it for us! We had a fantastic meal with fantastic wine and fantastic service (thank you, Arnaud!), even spotting 2 French movie stars dining while we were there. Though a bit tricky to find once you get off the Metro, it's worth the hunt!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Worst meal in paris (and the most expensive one)!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We were very upset and most disappointed from the dinner we had. We were explaind by the waiter (there is no english menu) that the lamb dish was for two people and the price for it is 31?. We waited 30 minutes for a very small dish that was served cold and was full of fat. In general it wasn't tasty at all and we had to eat a lot of baguette to be full... at the end of the meal we were shocked to find out that the price was per person!!!!! We were very disappointed to be left with a 77? (including 2 glasses of wine and a dessert) bill and with a bad taste in our mouth! The manager was an antipathetic person who didn't give a damm about our complaint. It was absolutely our Worst experience in paris! Not recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Le Grand Pan also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Grand Pan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Grand Pan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.