We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good, BUT.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le grand Pan

Le grand Pan
20, rue Rosenwald, 75015 Paris, France (Montparnasse)
01 42 50 02 50
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #937 of 12,477 restaurants in Paris
Price range: $44 - $74
Cuisines: French, Basque
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Montparnasse
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Very Good, BUT.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is a very good restaurant but I would not recommend it for US visitors who want beef. That may be better done in the USA. On the other hand all the fiood was excellent. This is worth the trip. The main courses were Cabillaud that was cooked to perfection and a very large leg of lamp that required no knife and was most tasteful. The starting oysters were excellent but differed from the usual by the addition of parsley and olive oil along with a topping of what seemed like whipped cream. The second starter was a generous succulent tomato salad delecately flavored with herbs. The floating island dessert was wonderful but alas the fruit tart was good but pedestrian. The staff speaks English if one requires it. Note however, the restaurant is not easy to find using public transportation.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    49
    40
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newfoundland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“well worth the effort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This restaurant is out of the way but worth the effort to get there. Recent positive reviews in the NY Times have ensured a full house every night. The restaurant is now too small for its success. The food is fresh and excellent. Wine list is varied and offers some decent choices for reasonable prices. The staff is very knowledgeable and accommodating.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unreal veal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Complimentary beef broth starter with it choice of veal for two. The veal was fantastic quality and superbly cooked. Well seasoned and dry rubbed. Desserts were mint chocolate mousse and strawberry and avocado tart. Both had real effort and ability showing through.
In the other news, discreet location, friendly staff and authentically Parisian. One of the best meals I have had the pleasure of eating.
€93 for two including wine.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brillant meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I took my girlfriend here recently, It was busy with a great atmosphere, the service was great and they had a good level of English, (which helped choosing from the menu!)

We went for a six course taster menu, where it is a complete surprise by the chef, using seasonal, quality produce, Each course was well presented and very tasty.

The food and the drinks were reasonably priced.
Will look forward to our return.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Totally makes you feel like a local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We all have our favorite haunts in our own towns. So, when we were in Paris, my cousin took us here with her boyfriend. It's one of her boyfriend's favorite spots, and owned by a friend of his. The food was great, atmosphere was most neighbourhoody, and the service was certainly attentive. Knowing the owner was a plus, but we could see that all the other tables were being well attended-to. The cheese platter after dinner was deadly-good! I would suggest foregoing the fancy stuff in Paris until one has first experienced a place like this. It was crowded, and very lively, which is always a good sign of success.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le grand Pan also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le grand Pan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le grand Pan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.