We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only it was quieter...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie Thoumieux

Brasserie Thoumieux
79, rue Saint-Dominique, 75007 Paris, France (Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon)
+33 (0)1 47057900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5,095 of 13,399 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $66 - $197
Cuisines: French, Brasserie, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“If only it was quieter...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Inventive, exquisite food BUT very crowded and noisy. Décor and lighting are rather gloomy.
The tables are very close to each other and combined with the bad acoustics the place becomes unbearably noisy to the extent that one can hardly enjoy the great cuisine that this venue offers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    176
    134
    94
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kildeer, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disapointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Few years ago it was a great place with friendly atmosphere. We went last week to the restaurant 2 of us got sick from the lamb preparation... and for the other 2 the veggies were great but the meat was really way toooo expensive 28 euro for chicken, The dessert were pompous with big name and no texture and taste, the wine was ready for vinegar...This was not anymore a good restaurant. So avoid if you want a nice experience with french cooking

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and interesting food preparation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had a really good experience here. Our waiter was fantastic (one of the best we had in Paris that week) and he gave us a lot of nice recomendations. The atmosphere was lively. Profiterol is a must for dessert.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Worth our visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We stopped by this restaurant while we were looking around for a nice place to have dinner. We had to wait a bit to be seated since it was full, on a Friday night. The food and wine was really good, the wine list extensive, and the desserts delicious.
The maitre d' was very uptight and inflexible but our two waiters more than compensated for his attitude. They were both fast and effective and with a positive, fun attitude.
I would go back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The interior design is appealing, french bistro like with art deco elements, although there could be more light (just for reading the menu :)). The food took a while, but as we were in good company and not extremely hungry, it was not such an issue. The food was very tasty (I recommend the Salade de homard bleu and the Coeur de frisee) and we loved the desserts, especially the Profiterol and the Tarte au Citron.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Thoumieux also viewed

 

Been to Brasserie Thoumieux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie Thoumieux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.