We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Moderne

Cafe Moderne
19 Rue Keller, 75011 Paris, France
01 47 00 53 62
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Cafe Moderne is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #759 of 12,467 restaurants in Paris
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Le Cafe Moderne, apres avoir ete une institution du couscous a Paris, laisse place aujourd'hui a une nouvelle cuisine et remet les boulettes au gout du jour.Au Menu: Tartare, Burger et Boulette: du fait maison, comme a la maison, le tout dans une ambiance conviviale, dans un bistrot Parisien qui n'a rien perdu de son authenticite.//////// The Cafe Moderne, who used to be the institution of the couscous in Paris, leaves place today to a new kitchen and puts back the meatballs in our plates!Le Menu : Tartars, Burgers and Meatballs, a homemade cuisine that taste like home, in a French Bistrot that kept it's authenticity.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Old world charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This is what you would expect of a typical Paris cafe. Beautiful art deco decor, waiters in crisp white aprons, service attentive, helpful and prompt. I had the most wonderful steak tartar. We did dine very well (there were 3 of us) but it was not a cheap Sunday night supper (Euro $260 for dinner) but it was worth it!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    36
    20
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Je suis in heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

even though I was mildly stabbed by the passng server...it did not deter me from sopping up ALL the whipped bleu cheese heaven I had as a starter. he tried to take it away. REALLY!
when I was smartly using pain (bread) to get every last white juice o' heavenlyness!
a lunch plat for 12 euro was a bargain for that plus the salmon entree.

and wifi...for me to post this awesome news.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Humm that's all !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

+
Furnitures and surrounding, wine advice, food quality

-
Service team a bit overcharged, hight price,

= It miss something to be very exceptional ! ... to be improve

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Our favourite cous cous in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Best méchoui north of Marrakech! When we are in Paris we never miss it! Unpretentious yet so effortlessly chic (as only in France they manage to do), you always feel at home here. The meat is really top notch, to have with cous cous (goes without saying). The pastilla also deserves a mention. We absolutely love this place!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012 via mobile

We've tried Cous Cous Royale in several Paris restaurants and this was one of the best. And service was just as good. Will definitely recommend and be back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Moderne also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Cafe Moderne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Moderne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.