We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and fantastic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Petite Perigourdine

La Petite Perigourdine
39 rue des Ecoles, 5th Arrondissement, 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)
01 43 26 33 35
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,638 of 13,448 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $22 - $87
Cuisines: French, Brasserie, Bistro, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Panthéon
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Friendly and fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

This restaurant that my boyfriend and I found by surprise has a friendly atmosphere and lovely staff. The food selection included a lot of French favourites as well as a few other interesting Italian inspired additions. We both ate the osso bucco with spaghetti. The meat fell off the bone and the broth was very tasty soaked up with our pieces of baguette. This was all washed down with a nice light glass of Côte du Rhone red wine. The osso bucco was priced at €13 which we thought was outstanding value. Perhaps over the top for lunch time but we couldn't help but order the creme brûlée for dessert which was also fantastic.

Amongst us tourists there were a lot of local customers of whom many must have been regulars with their own customised napkins waiting for them in a long timber rack by the front door. I thought that was a nice touch.

Highly recommended by us and I know we will be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    121
    30
    12
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Many, Louisiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great French food, wine, and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We walked by and were attracted by the look of the restaurant, and the outside menu, promising a nice French dinner. A late Sunday dinner, place not crowded, and customers looked more like locals than tourists, which often pulls me into restaurants.
We weren't disappointed: pleasant atmosphere, very kind service, and they were very competent both in English speaking and making sensible suggestions for the tastes of everyone in the family.
A nice wine selection. When the food arrived it was great ideed: the terrine maison as a starter was pretty good and very artisanale, but then the confit, the tartare de boef, and the desserts were even better, and we were really happy to have found this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The restaurant is good located: out of the tourist flow but close to Quartier Latin. Typical French touch: good service, good vine and great food! I definitely recommend this restaurant and keep appetite for the desserts, the choice is incredible!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great service, great food! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

After having a bout of bad luck by getting our phone pick pocketed, falling down on metal grates stepping down from one of the bathrooms at the Noel market, and getting kicked out of another restaurant because we just wanted a glass of wine instead of food we started being a bit disillusioned. Le Petite Perigourdine definitely raised our spirits! All the waiters were very friendly. We barely speak a lick of French between the two of us but there was an English menu and they were more than accommodating. Everyone here whether they were locals or no seemed happy and lively in this fun place. The food was absolutely excellent as well. Definitely a must go for friendly hospitality!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We went there, for Sunday lunch, on the recommendation of a friend who said it served the best tartare de boeuf she had ever eaten - and would in fact order it for her last ever meal. She wasn't wrong; it was so creamy with just the right amount of spiciness to give it a kick. Excellent fries and delicious salad dressing too. My husband had the confit de canard accompanied by yummy potatoes with mushrooms mixed in. It was excellent too. I had the ice cream which I didn't think lived up to the hype I'd heard for Berthillon but my husband's millefeuille was a sight to behold. The wine was superb as was the coffee and the waiter were all charming, once correcting my French in a way that didn't make me feel silly! We'll definitely go back very soon as there were so many things on the menu we want to try.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Petite Perigourdine also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Petite Perigourdine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Petite Perigourdine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.