We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good affordable and a great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Polidor

Restaurant Polidor
41 rue Monsieur le Prince, 75006 Paris, France (Odeon / Saint-Michel)
1-43-26-95-34
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,506 of 13,133 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
Description: This restaurant has been around for over 100 years and was featured in a scene from Woody Allen's film "Midnight in Paris"
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“good affordable and a great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We recently ate at the polidor and really enjoyed the night. We had great food and the servings were generous. We had the beef bourbinon served with creamy garlic mashed potatoes and a nice salad and the creme brulee was delicious and came flaming to the table. House wine is cheap and good. We sat with a lovely french couple who are regulars here. The staff are helpful and speak some English.There is a signed Woody Allen photo in the window as this was one of settings for "midnight in Paris".

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    330
    121
    72
    82
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Cerrito, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great, fun, delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I really loved this place. The food is simple, rustic, and extremely good, the service is as pleasant as can be, and the seating allows one to meet other tourists as well as locals for conversation. Each night of the week has its own special which in our case was the hadjis. We also had the cold smoked herring with potatoes which was absolutely sensational. The foie gras was amazing and we topped our meal with a delicious creme caramel. And we wound up having a couple of very nice conversations with those seated with us in the communal-type seatings. Definitely coming back here next time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“French food & atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We ate here for dinner in May 2014 after a guided tour of the Luxembourg Gardens neighborhood with a girl we met in our apartment building. She suggested we eat here since it was affordable & good. She told us the students at the Sorbonne liked to eat there. It was pretty tight seating but we did have a long table to ourselves. Our friend ordered for us, Beef Bourgignon for me and Sausage with Lentils for my husband. Our starter was pumpkin soup (me) and a Liver Pate (my husband). For dessert we chose lemon pie & apple pie. Everything was delicious. We actually couldn't eat it all at once so they packed it up in foil for us to take home. My husband did use the 'legendary' bathroom but I didn't so I can't say firsthand how that was (thank God). All in all, a nice French dining experience for us.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere with very authentic French food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant while staying in Paris. From the wonderful atmosphere of dining with locals and a few other tourists, but not many, to the authentic french cuisine we had a great experience. So much so that we went back again a second night so we could try the Escargot that was highly recommended by another couple we had met the first night. It was our first time having it and it did not disappoint! We had the traditional Beef Bourguignon, which was delicious, and also tried the pumpkin soup and a chicken and mashed potato dish the next night. Excellent food all around with very decent prices! Just a side note, bring cash because they only accept cash and the sign telling you so is written in french only.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotati, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food and experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This restaurant met our expectations with added surprises of the good part of a step back in time. Check out wikipedia for its history. Dating back to 1865, it has large shared tables for dining.but we were there for an early dinner so we had a table to ourselves, The chalk board menu on the tables is in French but a paper menu has English translation as well. I had pumpkin soup and chicken and mashed potato meal which seemed like the best of 'home cooking' comfort food ideal for the rainy day - a super tender and moist chicken, smooth mashed that still had fresh potato flavor.. My husbands salmon meal was fresh and lightly seasoned to fit his palate. The waitress was warm and welcoming and seemed genuinely concerned that we eat well and enjoy it all and as though she was serving us in her own home. It is clean and well maintained although a surprise is the toilette which is unchanged. Be prepared to squat!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Polidor also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Restaurant Polidor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Polidor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.