We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cafe for locale” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe de la Place

Cafe de la Place
23,rue d'odessa, 75014 Paris, France (Montparnasse)
01 42 18 01 55
Improve this listing
Ranked #10,932 of 13,398 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $0 - $43
Cuisines: Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Montparnasse
Berkeley, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cafe for locale”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Food was typical cafe food, nothing special. The location is very good, right at square near metro station, market, with low auto traffic - which may explain the above average price. We found the service to be excellent. A poor village bottle of wine was served, we returned it and asked for the correct bottle. It was not available, but an upgrade to 1st Cru was provided, no issues, no increased cost. Recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    13
    8
    7
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Cafe with outdoor seating and underhand pricing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had a reasonable meal here watching the world go by, soaking in Paris on our first night. The food and drink were OK, but not great, and the service friendly, but limited. While the meals were fairly expensive, it was the €16 beers that were the real shock. That the waiter went on to calculate an exact 15% tip for himself after, including drinks, was more shocking. Avoid.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Ok for the view.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This cafe is on the market square in Montparnasse, and as such it's a nice place to sit and watch the world go by. However, at £50 for 2 lunches and half a bottle of wine, it felt like a bit of a rip off. They were not elaborate lunches, a Croque Monsieur and a plate of pate and ham. The waiter was on the 'hurry up' and clearly wanted us to move on as quickly as possible. I would go back for a coffee, but I would not eat here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
“BAD FOOD QUALITY”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I ordered medium baked steak but I get totally raw and cold meat inside and burned from outside.
Food quality is very bad!Price is too high and service is bad!I DO NOT recommend it!
There are lot of better places to eat in this area!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Adequate and overpriced food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I live in the area and walk past this café every day, so when my brother was in town we went to try it. The food is ok but super expensive. Nice enough for a coffee in the sunshine, but I wouldn't eat here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de la Place also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Cafe de la Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe de la Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.