We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arty, trendy, delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Mini Palais

Le Mini Palais
Grand Palais | 3, Avenue Winston Churchill, 75008 Paris, France (Champs-Elysees)
1 42 56 42 42
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,883 of 13,133 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $36 - $154
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Champs-Elysees
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Arty, trendy, delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

A superb exhibition in the Grand Palais, and then, why not a nice and relaxed lunch in the Mini Palais? The location is exceptional, the atmosphere is elegant and trendy, through the high windows, a nice view at the Petit Palais... If sky is blue, it's even more spectacular. Food is original and inspired, served in an efficient and timely manner. You will adore the gougere, small apetizer with cheese. Delicious blend of Asian and european tastes. A real good moment, and then you're ready to go on and walk to the Louvre or the Palais de Tokyo.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    261
    115
    76
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Our little secret”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The outside terrace of this discreet restaurant and terrace bar at the southern end of the Grand Palais is a surpising and enjoyable place to have a romantic drink during the day or evening, just a hop skip and a jump from the Champs Elysees. It is perfect for watching the world go by on a Summer's evening and In Winter, large heaters make it comfortable to enjoy the ambience of being able to look out at the Petit Palais opposite, while enjoying a cocktail in a busy, yet pleasant environment.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Great ambience in an excellent venue!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I was invited for a business dinner during the week at this contemporary restaurant located inside the Grand Palais with its distinct entrance at the south side of this magnificent museum building. We arrived on time (ie for which we reserved) and handed our coats to the cloak attendant. We were sat immediately by the maitre who presented each of us with an a la carte brasserie menu (somewhat limited in choice) and presented the specials.The restaurant was busy; the service and the food were exemplary. My host had two first courses which looked great (instead of an entree and a main course) and I had the beef tartare as a main course served with a tiny salad and french fries. Le Mini Palais has a big outdoor terrace which would be great in the summer, The location of this restaurant is extraordinary and a better choice as a restaurant than the Cafe Marly at the Louvre (see my previous review of Cafe Marly). I was expecting the restaurant to have a car valet but it was not the case. I left my car parked on a side road from 8.30 to 10.30 pm (along with a number of other cars) and got a parking ticket!...So be careful with where you park if you drive your car to this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Quite Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Attended a group dinner with business colleagues and was very pleased with the food, service and ambience. The tuna tartare starter was excellent and a surprisingly large portion. For main course I had the salmon which was prepared with Indian spices and accompanied by a small cucumber salad. I ate every bite. I love salmon and the Tandoori seasoning was delicious. Difficult to find fault with the meal I was served. My colleagues seemed to be comparably pleased, particularly those who ordered the pork belly and white fish main courses.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Gorgeous location, average food & service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The venue is in a wonderful location with an impressive grand entrance. When you walk into the main room it isn't what you expect at all...a vast, modern room...but outside on the terrace it's Parisien in all the best ways. We sat at a table by one of the huge pillars and proceeded to get completely ignored by all the wait staff for about 20 minutes until my colleague got up to ask them to take our drinks order. Fortunately the weather and views were lovely enough that we didn't mind waiting ages between each course. The food was pleasant but nothing to write home about. I would return here if I were with a group of friends on a summers evening and we just wanted drinks and something light but this isn't the destination for a fantastic meal out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Mini Palais also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Mini Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Mini Palais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.