We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly local restaurant with great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Au Pied du Sacre Coeur

Au Pied du Sacre Coeur
85,rue Lamarck, 75018 Paris, France (Montmartre)
01 46 06 15 26
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #656 of 13,462 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $0 - $52
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Montmartre
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Friendly local restaurant with great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We looked arpund other local restaurants and camr back to th ia one beacuse it seemed authentic and friendly and because the specials included a fish dish. Both the starters and the fish were interesting and well cooked. The waiter humoured our attempts at speakibg French and all in all it was a really enjoyable experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    45
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great snails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Tried to get in one night, but the restaurant was full. So we booked next time, well worth it. Les escargots made every other time I've had them seem like tinned. Wonderful creamy & garlicky sauce. Yum!! Prawns for main which were delightful. P had stuffed rabbit leg, which he loved, although a bit dry. Lovely wine, not too expensive. Lovely service. Well worth the money. Phone ahead though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Look no further”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Truly great classical French cuisine.

Stumbled into this one by accident. Actually, we were sort of drawn in by the french fairytale vibe stemming from this tiny hidden bistro in a side street in Montmartre. Tablecloths and chalk boards detailing todays specials, nothing all that different from all the other Montmartre diners, except this one had an air of quality about it. We went in with an expectation of a good meal, but oh, how far those expectations were exceeded. Will have mouth watering dreams about this one. Their foie gras du jour was one of the best I've ever had and the wine recommended to complement did just that!

If you're looking for that tiny hole-in-the-wall restaurant to blow your mind- Look no further!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“A jewel of a small bistro in Montmartre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This small bistro was recommended to me by Parisians when I asked them for something authentic and not touristy. I went there with a local and we had a wonderful meal. It's a small establishment and the service is very friendly. We each had a drink, a main dish, and a dessert, all for less then 25 euro each. It's a cozy restaurant, the kind of place I would return to every once in a while if I was living in Paris. A few minutes away from the basilique du Sacré Coeur, they also have great and cheap set-menu lunch options (for about 10 euro). Definitely a place to check out if ever you find yourself in Paris!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Outstanding French Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I found this restaurant by accident by roaming Montmarte. It is off the beaten path, but was worth the walking around to find a non-tourist location. A small menu, but the daily menu was superb. I had the green salad with warm goat cheese, veal medallions in foie gras sauce and creme brulee. The only thing that kept this from an "Excellent" rating was the wine. They have a small wine selection and the Pinot Noir I had was okay, but nothing special. All in all, this was the best meal I had in Paris this visit. I normally like to try different restaurants when I visit, but I do plan on returning here on my next visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Pied du Sacre Coeur also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Au Pied du Sacre Coeur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Au Pied du Sacre Coeur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.