We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the way but worthwhile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marguerite - CLOSED

Marguerite
50 rue de Clignancourt, 75018 Paris, France (Montmartre)
+33 1 42 51 66 18
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $22 - $51
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Montmartre
Description: TYPICAL FRENCH CUISINE FOR ALL KIND OF APPETITE IN MONTMARTRE.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Out of the way but worthwhile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I emailed Marguerites with my booking for that night and they got back to me really quickly confirming my booking. When we got to the restaurant the service was great there too.
Restaurant is small and cosy but not cramped. We had he escargot and frogs legs (much tastier than I expected), beef and the steak tartare, both were good. Including wine and dessert, it was about $180 for both of us. Was a fantastic last meal for us in Paris.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sducreux, Gérant at Marguerite, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment about us. We are proud to read it and glad to make your last night in Paris a good 'souvenir'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    415
    158
    26
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tres bien!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Saturday night dinner - so glad I booked earlier in the week as people were being turned away before 9pm without reservations. Was really looking forward to the frogs legs started and steak tartare main course... and I was not disappointed in the slightest.

Frogs legs were delicious and just the right portion size, and the steak tartare was prepared at the table. Once again, absolutely delicious.

Polished the evening off with a cafe gourmond - a top assortment of delectables was served to complement the coffee.

The price for the two of us (other half had snails and steak - both received top marks) taking into consideration the quality of the food and the fact this was Paris, was very reasonable indeed.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sducreux, Gérant at Marguerite, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Your comment honors our restaurant and we are very happy to discover it. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had a very good meal in Marguerite, I started with langoustines and vegetables, then we took the 1kg steak. It was real good meat, soft, even the fat melted away and tasted really good!
We did ask to take a little time between the courses, because we saw other tables finishing quite quick.Also the wine and champagne were of a good quality. top restaurant!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect French meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

On our last night in Paris we tried 'Marguerite' after reading reviews on TA and discovering its close location to our hotel. Beautiful food. We had 3 courses- French onion soup, beef for 2 and the tarte tantin & crepe suzette for desert. The beef was outstanding, 1kg for 2 ppl was more than enough- came with potatoes, salad and sauces. Cooked to perfection and after being in Europe for 3 weeks we will definitely remember this meal. As their restaurant logo and pictures inside are of cows and beef, we took the hint and ordered beef... As I think everyone should! The bill came out at 89€, three courses as delicious as they were for 2 people was great value . Definitely recommend!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sducreux, Gérant at Marguerite, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We always try to provide our best in our restaurant and the best reward for us is to read such a comment. Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“One of the best meals of the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Marguerite is a nice small place with only about 10 tables. Make sure you make a reservation. Our first visit we didn't have one but got lucky to get a table, the second time we made sure to e-mail and request a reservation. Good steak, and great chocolate lava cake what more could you ask for? Staff is helpful, no problems trying to communicate. It has the small restaurant feel not like a busy chain. The prices are more than reasonable for what you get.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sducreux, Gérant at Marguerite, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for your review. It is very pleasant to read such nice things.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marguerite also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marguerite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.