We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little restaurant with great food and wine!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marguerite - CLOSED

Marguerite
50 rue de Clignancourt, 75018 Paris, France (Montmartre)
+33 1 42 51 66 18
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $22 - $51
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Montmartre
Description: TYPICAL FRENCH CUISINE FOR ALL KIND OF APPETITE IN MONTMARTRE.
Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
“Lovely little restaurant with great food and wine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This lovely little restaurant is really an insiders' tip in Paris.
Really great food and wine. Friendly and attentive service. Reservation highly recommened. During our visit many guests being turned away due to all tables were booked.
We will come back at our next visit in Paris.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    159
    26
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I chose this restaurant because of reviews I had read, and its proximity to my sister's apartment. Booking online was easy, and I received a reply very quickly. On the evening, we were welcomed very warmly by our waiter, and he was very attentive throughout our meal. The menu was typically French. My friend and I chose the entrecôte, which was a really good size and well-cooked - however, it wasn't the best-tasting we had ever had. My brother-in-law had the lamb in a figue sauce, and he raved about it afterwards. The chunky chips were delicious, much better than frites. His dessert was a massive portion, but he managed to polish it off easily! The rosé wine was one of the nicest I have tasted. The atmosphere in the small restaurant was great and, despite the disappointment with the steak, I would go to this restaurant again on my next trip to Paris.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
“Great dinner with the right atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We hade a great dinner with traditional french dishes, including foie gras, entrecote and creme brulee, presented in a more modern way. Excellent service and another wonderful Paris experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely small restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Very nice, small restaurant. Friendly staff and good menu. For main we had the steak for two which was tasty along with a good wine chosen by the waiter. I'd recommend emailing to ensure a reservation.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Cosy little restaurant, food very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Unfortunately we did not book in advance, so when we got there it was fully booked. We decided to walk around to see if there is another place where we would like to eat but didn't find anything. So after one hour we went back and there was just another couple leaving so we were able to take their seats.
As it was already quite late we decided only to have a main. My boyfriend chose a steak and I went for the duck confit. Both were lovely and well cooked and the portions very generous.
The steak came with fries and salad and also 3 different sauces the duck came with potatoes fried in garlic and parsley and some salad too.
I can highly recoomend it but would advise to prebook.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marguerite also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marguerite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.