We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snobby waiters, mediocre food.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Ciel de Paris

Le Ciel de Paris
33, avenue du Maine | 56ème étage, 75015 Paris, France (Montparnasse)
+33 1 40 64 77 64
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Le Ciel de Paris is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,000 of 13,308 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $67 - $168
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Montparnasse
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Snobby waiters, mediocre food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Must be my lucky day to be treated like this in a high end restaurant. First of all, the food isn't anything special, mediocre at best. The service was what became the "highlight" of my whole trip. We have travelled far from a foreign country to experience this restaurant due to the reviews online. However, we should have saved our time and money instead.
First, our waiter asked how our food was, we were honest, they became unhappy with our opinion. What kind of restaurant does not take positive criticism? In addition to that, this was what the manager said "you think our food is okay, but all our other customers like it". ... What?
Second of all, I had requested for a table with a nice view. Unfortunately, we were placed at the most back of the restaurant, far from the Eiffel tower view.
The management should really train their employees yo treat foreigners better, and remind them to not be snobby/rude.
I won't be recommending this restaurant to any of my friends who are visiting Paris.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    585
    489
    188
    90
    85
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Awesome Perfect Fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Especially if you are a fan of the huge buildings and the magnificent views from the top, you should visit this restaurant-bar for sure! All the Paris and the Eiffel tour in you feet... Amazing view... Just perfect also for special occasions... The kind of food served is menu type (2 menus, cheap and expensive, 68 euros and 128 euros per person respectively) but you can have a drink as well with some kind of aperitifs or finger foods with this magnificent view!

I gave 4 stars and not five because they treat you absolutely like a moving dollar! We asked to go inside for drinks and they said to us for drinks you have to wait 30 minutes! Okey then we asked for food, and we the food menu we would get inside immediately! Pay more get inside faster!

And the best of all in order to stay at the window tables you have also to pay the expensive menu and not just the simple one... Everything for the money!! It worths it okay but they should have some more respect as well and better "management of the seats" because there were tables empty and they just denied to give us a table near the window...

Anyhow it is a unique experience!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“See Paris from the top of the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had an amazing meal here at the Tour Montparnasse, the food was fantastic and the service impeccable. The views as the sun when down were amazing. We were there for a special birthday treat and it was worth every Euro Cent. Thank you to the staff for making this evening so special for us

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great view, great food but... "great" prices too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

For those who want to impress their spouses, girlfriends and so on and that are also in the mood to spend some extra money, this restaurant is definitely thee one !
The view of Paris from the 56th floor of Tour Montparnasse, where it is located is awesome. The food is quite impressive too, but be aware that a full dinner with wine and coffee will cost you around 100 Euros (as July/2014).
Anyway, I will definitely save some money to go there again...

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Awful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

From beginning to end you are treated like a conveyor belt customer - they just want you in and out as quickly as possible!
Lift to the restaurant - no one to meet and greet and therefore crammed in the life with 16 other diners
Staff - the initial chap who ushered us to the wrong seat (we had booked to get a window seat) to the initial waitress were awful. The waitress stood over us whilst we made our choices and we had to order our dessert at the outset - not the signs of a top glass restaurant
Grand Ecran menu - we didn't get the alcohol that we were entitled to and the champagne was topped up in our glass from different bottles - shocking!
Starters - the salad was awful - dry and just salad leafs
Main course - came 3 minutes after the starters were taken away - clearly not made to order and mine was cold. My brother's cod was raw! They offered to reheat it but I didn't want them reheating fish which included mussels!
Puddings - I am not going to lie were delicious - however not worth 128 euros due to the rest of the meal being poor!
Go to Jules Verne restaurant in the Eiffel Tower - you are treated like royalty from the moment you enter to the moment you leave - and you are not hurried! The food there was just completely amazing!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Ciel de Paris also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Ciel de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Ciel de Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.