We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and wine in refined yet relaxed atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Variations

Variations
18,rue des Wallons, 75013 Paris, France (Gobelins)
01 43 31 36 04
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,624 of 13,398 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $0 - $59
Cuisines: French
Neighborhood: Gobelins
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Gobelins
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and wine in refined yet relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I have been living in Paris for 25 years, and this is the best restaurant in this price range I have found in Paris yet! The "Effet terre" (meat) and "Effet mer" (fish and seafood) menus are great value for money, and the wine menu is to die for. The tables are reasonably spaced and the atmosphere is both relaxed enough that you can chat freely and calm enough that you feel cosy and never need to raise your voice. All in all, a very refined and friendly place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    24
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Out of the beaten track, a very nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great food, wonderful service, good wines. Fair price. What else can you ask for. Went for lunch and did not have time to come back for dinner....Shame. Very close to metro station. Relatively spacious for Paris standards. Worth the visit!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Variations has confused aims”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Variations is a rather grand restaurant close to the Jardin des Plantes - very comfortable with spacious seating and tables and excellent friendly service. Advice is always on hand about wine pairings. There are 2 menus du jour - Earth and Sea, as well as an elaborate expensive carte. The Earth menu is much cheaper than the Sea menu. Oddly, the Earth menu had squid as a first course option. Short wine list which had gaps, not highlighted. I had an excellent Pouiily Fuisse, followed by a stunning Pouilly Fume in place of the absent Gewurztaminer. Very good foie gras terrine, just right potato puree, rather dense veal kidneys and a very poor rhum baba. All rather hit and miss. The only sound from the kitchen was frying - I got the impression the sautee pan was much in use. The chef should decide whether he wants a grand restaurant or a cheaper bistro - at the moment he is in cuisine limbo.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Value - Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This restaurant has a la carte and a menu du jour. The menu has a wide range of dishes and prices are reasonable. This restaurant has a very friendly ambience and reasonable service. The desert menu should also be looked at - Paris/Brest worth a try!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Absolute Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

This wasn't the first time visiting Variations, we had been there previously for a family meal and were so happy with our service that we chose to go back for our anniversary.

Variations is a small family run restaurant in the 5th arr. A little out of the way and off the main road, so not that obvious to passers by.

We were both ecstatic with our food, the quality, the presentation and the speed with which it was delivered. The menu's were quite different each time we went.

Even though we finished our meal quite late, they were happy to sit and talk to us about the menu, the history of the restaurant and about the food.

A 3 course meal for 2 people including alcohol was around 100eur
p.s. I believe that the wife of the owner as well as the waiter spoke english

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Variations also viewed

 

Been to Variations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Variations, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.