We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutley Superb” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Montegrosso

Le Montegrosso
6,rue de l'Echelle, Paris, France (Louvre / Palais-Royal)
01 42 60 57 12
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,788 of 13,133 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $0 - $149
Cuisines: Italian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Louvre / Palais-Royal
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutley Superb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

I can not believe the reviews of the pompous Americans and British you show here. The first time we went was around Christmas had a great time. The next night it was closed as there was a party for French Soap Opera TV Stars, The manager said if you do not minds a small table we said no problem and were treated like TV stars. I find with your reviews that a lot of idiot Americans who do not even try to speak french or be nice put down places like this they should be removed

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    15
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I wish I'd walked out before ordering”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

In several trips over the years I'd never actually experienced the bad service that's supposedly a Parisian cliché, until now. 'Indifferent' is too weak a word to describe the attitude of the staff. First, after seating me they ambled about and cleared another table ebfore deigning to bring me a menu; then I ordered one of the daily specials, which was unavailable (they hadn't bothered to tell me). The food, when it came, was easily the worst I've ever had in France, the vegetable were overcooked, watery and tasteless (in an Italian restaurant!) in a manner more suited to Bournemouth in the 1950s. The only thing I deeply regret is that I didn't walk out after being kept waiting. Total waste of money and a bad experience all round.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Our food was excellent! The staff was indifferent to our presence, but that being said we probably would return due to how yummy our meal was.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Food, Terrible Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

The food in this restaurant was very good but the service was awful. We were obviously not their type of clientele being English visitors, we were cramped into a tiny corner, the waitress was rude asking us very loudly to point to our menu choices, the plates of food were practically thrown at us, we were not asked if the food was ok, the waiter never spoke as he took our payment, the owner fawned over French customers but completely ignored us, and as we left no one thanked us or said goodbye. We visit Paris at least twice a year visiting family, usually staying close to this area, but even though the food was good we will never use this restaurant again

  • Visited May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The poorest example of Parisian hospitality one can experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

Our daughter chose Le Montegrosso just off rue St Honore for her 18th birthday dinner. From the moment we entered the restaurant we were treated with complete and utter disdain and rudeness by the waiting staff and completely ignored by the Maitre de. We were sat at a makeshift table in the middle of the restaurant’s walking thoroughfare and made to wait for over 10minuted before either of the waiters deigned to acknowledge our presence. When one of them did he decided it was appropriate to insult our intelligence for our wine choice (horrified that we had chosen an Italian wine instead of a French one) and then our meal was delivered with such speed, our daughter had not even finished her entree when her main meal was dropped in front of her that it was very evident that our presence in the restaurant was to be as short as possible.
We decided to persist, myself being hit in the head with the menus being thrown onto the table behind the table we were sitting at, and waited a while to order dessert. This apparently disgusted our waiter even more. The dessert (a Parisian staple no doubt) of Crème Brule that our daughter order was inedible. So much so she did not even taste a spoonful due to the fact that it was completely covered in so much raw sugar that hadn’t been ‘burnt’ that the dessert was absolutely disgusting to look at and unable to be eaten.
When we finally came to the conclusion that this was the worst restaurant we had ever been to and was the poorest reflection we had experienced of Paris and its people, we asked for the bill. Apparently it was now our turn to wait. Over 20minutes later and having asked for the bill three times only to be abused by the waiter that it wasn’t his ‘job’ to get the bill but the Maitre de, who had not bothered to acknowledge our presence throughout the entire meal, the bill – the most obscenely expensive one we had received in Paris – was dropped on our table, our credit card taken, our money (obviously this ‘business’ has no issue with taking foreigners money) taken and with no thank you or other such courtesies we were shown the door.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Montegrosso also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Montegrosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Montegrosso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.