We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Je The...Me

Je The...Me
4,rue d'Alleray, Paris, France
01 48 42 48 30
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
Je The...Me is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,880 of 13,200 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
kmh123
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have been staying in the neighborhood and wanted a nice place to go for dinner. Saw the reviews on Trip Advisor and we walked over. Small place, about 12 tables. We did not have a reservation, but the owner was very kind and made a table for us. The menu is interesting, and one suspects everything would be excellent. Our dinners were superb, new flavor combinations, expertly prepared and presented. No flaws. Pricey - total for two was 118 Euros. Worth it for the occasion.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    42
    13
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Favorite restaurant in Paris...and I live here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We live in the 15th arr., and we'd been searching for a superb restaurant. We've now found it, having visited several times with friends and family, thus getting a wide sampling of all the different dishes. Hands-down, the cuisine at Je Thé...me is the most consistently excellent we've found. In fact, we've yet to experience a single dish that wasn't excellent. If you dine much in Paris, you know that even at much higher prices, one occasionally gets a dish that's merely 'okay,' but at Je Thé...me, all the food is truly delectable.

The service is both welcoming and professional. (Those who don't speak French will be comfortable as the waiters have an above-average command of English.)

The ambiance is cozy, a bit crammed for my taste, but given the small corner the restaurant occupies, it accommodates as many as possible with aplomb, not seeming too crowded even though one sits quite near neighboring tables. If you like stuffy, formal places with white linen table cloths, this place is too laid back, too much of a neighborhood place. If you like comfortable and relaxed, on the other hand, this is a great atmosphere. (It has an upstairs, in which we haven't yet eaten, but have seen on our way to the toilettes. I prefer the rez-de-chaussee (ground floor) atmosphere.)

If you don't see a bottle you know and love, ask the waiter for a recommendation. We did and were VERY pleased with his recommendation based upon what we sought. We like full-bodied, dry reds with nice tannins. It's easy to pick a good Bordeaux to match that, of course. Instead, the waiter surprised us by suggesting a particular Chinon, not the region I would have expected. Truly a great recommendation.

This is NOT a restaurant for people on a limited budget, except as a splurge. If you can afford it, though, do yourself the favor and go.

I recommend you make reservations in advance given the restaurant's limited seating capacity.

Finally, for those who don't live here, the restaurant is very easily reached from the no. 12 (green) Metro line.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Küsnacht
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

romantic, cosy, french athmosphere, very friendly service, the waiter even tried to explain the menue in german, even though he was french
excellent french cuisine
we had foie gras, the tuna tatar and as a main course the dourade...excellent taste
as for the dessert we recommend the "pear" with melted chocolate and home made vanilla icecream, yummeee

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead
1 review
“Absolutely exquisite and excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I loved everything about this restaurant - the owners, the setting, the quality of the food, the atmosphere, the choice of the menu. I will go back, it's French cuisine at its very very best.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“The best foie gras in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Not far form Tour Eiffel or Invalides. On the XVth quartier. I really like this restaurant. Typical 'parisien' : small, good decoration, good service and excellent foie gras. The menu is around 40€ and even if the quantities of food are not very large, the dishes quality and original ingredients are worth it...specially for their foie gras. They even gave the option to buy it in small slices, at least during Christmas time. Wine is quite expensive, but you will always have the beer or water jar option. If you are only two people you might be sitten with someone else. Reservation is advised. Enjoy it !

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Je The...Me also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Je The...Me? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Je The...Me, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.