We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic French bistro in the Marais” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bouledogue Restaurant Cafe & Brasserie

Le Bouledogue Restaurant Cafe & Brasserie
20 Rue Rambuteau, 75003 Paris, France (Notre Dame / Marais)
+33 140279090
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Le Bouledogue Restaurant Cafe & Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,431 of 13,460 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $25 - $41
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Notre Dame / Marais
Description: http://carlosmeliablog.com/2010/09/20/le-bouledogue-brasserie/
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Classic French bistro in the Marais”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We were looking for classic French food without having to travel miles to get there. We lucked in as this bistro was next door to our flat. We had a good confit duck and steak dinner, Nice wines and good service. We would go there again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    59
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solna, Sweden
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A local brasserie just when you need one”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We just wanted a quick meal and nothing complicated and this place was just 10 minutes away from our hotel. As we arrived early by Paris standards (7:30 pm) there was plenty of space when we came and service was fast. The place filled up rapidly after 8 pm.

Absolutely no complaints about the food and good selection of beer. Steak tartare with hand-cut chips really hit the right spot that evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Rally good classic French bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We'd been looking for just this kind of place while on a 10 night stay in Paris, local, good service, good food, good surrounds and a nice room. Le Bouledouge ticks all those points, the food was really well cooked and presented, a duck confit which came with hand cut chips was beautifully tender, the meat falling off the bone, the other dish, a salmon carpaccio was also really well done, nice and soft fresh fish, really flavoursome.
The waiter managed to find us a bottle to suit both dishes from a pretty good wine list as well.
We chose to sit indoors, away from the smokers, and the room is a classic French bistro look, a big cosy well stocked bar along one wall and banquettes across the other wall, nice soft lighting to compliment the decor as well.
The owners have a love of the French bulldog and if you're lucky you may catch sight of one of the dogs. Very cute.
All in all a really good choice in a neighbourhood full of choices, some not as good as others, and most not as good as Le Bouledouge.
It's pretty popular,

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, MA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A neighborhood hangout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The bulldog is very good neighborhood hangout. The food is good (the duck confit is great), service is quite good and the prices are reasonable. My wife and I have eaten there several times and the later that you eat (after 10:00) the better the food seems...maybe it's just the wine. You can't go wrong and you'll have a great time people watching.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I was staying nearby & this was my go to restaurant. Very nice, friendly service. They speak English. And the food is excellent. I don't think the prices are bad. I live in a larger city in the US & I think the prices are comparable.
Bottom line, great atmosphere, good service, excellent food. It's worth a stop.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Le Bouledogue Restaurant Cafe & Brasserie also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Bouledogue Restaurant Cafe & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bouledogue Restaurant Cafe & Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.