We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go if you want to use the bicycles” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Nord

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel du Nord
47, rue Albert Thomas, 75010 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #481 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Hilversum, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't go if you want to use the bicycles”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

At first it seems a nice place but I was really dissapointed by their attitude towards me as a customer. You see, these free bikes are not well maintained at all. The lights don't work (quite dangerous in the crazy Paris traffic) and the bicycle chain is worn out. Which means, when you apply some force climbing one of the many hills of Paris, the chain gives away and your feet shoot forward, which makes a very loud noise. It's also tiring, totally uncool and a not fun way of riding a bike.
So when I asked for a good bike, first they told me they had no time to look for one. After I complained in a very polite way, they told me to go to a commercial bicycle-for-hire shop down the road. That was their concept of service.

I will never come back here and I would urge anybody not to visit this hotel, which clearly only wants your money. They don't care about you at all. A total let down.

Another thing, often there is nobody at the reception. You get your own key of the entrance so you can get in. But it didn't feel safe at all. It would be quite easy for a criminal to get in unnoticed.

Room Tip: Ask a room that does not smell like mine did, because it was near the kitchen. Very early in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    84
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
24
92
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

For a two star hotel, this hotel provide the basic need. The room is small but very clean. the bed is comfortable and firm. It feels like a Tempur-Pedic mattresses. The bed cover on some of the picture was velvet red looks a bit out of fashion, but it is very comfortable and vivid.

I stay in the twin bed room with bath facing courtyard for one night and double bed facing street for three night with shower. The twin room is rectangular shape. The double room is square shape. I like the double room more than the twin room. It is facing the street. However, it is on a very quite street. Therefore, there are minimum street noise. In each floor, there are only four rooms. Therefore, there are minimum noise from other guest room.

This hotel is about twenty meters from subway Jacques Bonsergent. Therefore, if you would like to minimized walk, you should always change to line 5 and exit here. In addition, this station had only two entrance toward the hotel direction. Jacques Bonsergent is only two stops from Gare Du Nord where you could take REB B to CDG.

Jacques Bonsergent is also bus stop for bus 65 that would reach Gare de Lyon. It is very convenient if you have luggages that you do not want to make subway connection change.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Phila.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Just returned from a 6 night stay at the Hotel du Nord. ( Not to be confused with the nearby mediocre restaurant of the same name ). Yes, the rooms are tiny - although the beds are quite comfortable. And the bar-resto across the street on the rue Albert Thomas is very loud - they blasted music until 3:00 AM on Sunday ( but were quiet enough the rest of the week ).

But the staff. They just cannot do enough for you. I have not encountered such a friendly group of people, since I stayed in a small hotel in Ireland. Always helpful. The neighborhood is very convenient. The hotel is about a mile from the Gare du Nord, so it is very convenient if you are arriving on the Eurostar from London, or the train from CGD airport. The Jacques Bonsergent metro stop is located a half block from the hotel. ( Do be careful at rush hour, as the metro is jammed, even though trains run every 2 minutes ).

There is a mini-mart adjacent to the metro stop - it is open 7 days a week, and the owner told me that he stays open until 1:00 AM. If you turn left out of the hotel entrance, and then turn right onto the rue de Lancry, you will find a laundromat on your right, which is open until 9:30 PM. A little further down on the left, past the laundromat, you will find a dry cleaners.

There is a Franprix supermarket, located on the Boulevard de Magenta. If you run ot of your prescription medicine, the pharmacy next to the metro station is open late - and on Sundays. I was pleasantly surprised to find out that the quinine pills which I take for occasional leg cramps, and which cost me almost ten bucks a pop in the USA, cost the equivalent of thirty-five cents each in France. ( And I have insurance ).

The bedroom has a flat screen TV, and there is free WIFI in the hotel. Do not plan on spending too much time in the room . I travel a little too heavy, and could not lay my suitcase flat. But, hey, you are in PARIS - get out and explore. Two people cannot be in the bathroom at one time - don't even try. The continental breakfast includes an assortment of homemade jams.( But it does cost extra ).

I would probably not stay here in warm weather, as the hotel has no A/C. But, this small hotel does a lot - at 84 euros / night for a twin -bedded room located in the heart of one of the most beautiful and most interesting cities in the world. It's a steal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the street - it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, RI, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I spent two nights at the Hotel du Nord in mid-November. The bathroom was tiny, with a shower stall that was barely big enough to turn around in. The breakfast, an extra 7.50 euros was not worth it. I am gluten sensitive and all they offered was bread and croissants, which I couldn't eat. When I asked for yogurt, they only had soy yogurt which I don't like, and when I asked for fruit they said they had none but then rustled up a few clementines.

There seemed to be an excessive amount of noise during the night, including prolonged screaming by what sounded like a woman being attacked the first night, which awakened me from sleep.

Would not stay here again.
Barbara Roberts, MD

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

For the price you pay, this really is excellent. We had a lovely room, a gorgeous little balcony, and free bicycles! Staff were extremely relaxed, friendly and helpful.

One tip: Don't ask for breakfast in the morning. It is just ordinary bread and jam, with rubbish hot chocolate. But don't worry, there's an awesome bakery just across the street, which is also ridiculously cheap!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Two night stay in Paris in nostalgia Hotel is wonderful experience.
Location of the hotel in near republica and also near metro station.
Hotel is full of very special furniture, panting, sticks, gift, sign , souvenir
give some time to have tour in the hotel
No air condition
No Refrigerator
Very small Bath
Room clean
Bath clean but need some maintenance
Bed are not bad but the third bed was sofa bed and was so bad
Staff was friendly but reception was close after 11:00 and for arrive becareful
Hotel i like

Room Tip: you could have better choose if you only looking for Hotel but if you want a hotel that you dont re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed overnight at this hotel in September 2012. The hotel has a perfect location, very near to Gare Du Nord railway station and there is many great bars and restaurants in close vicinity. The hotel staff from the cleaning lady to the porters were very friendly and spoke a good level of English. The hotel and room was very clean. Overall, I was very impressed by the service. The breakfast was very good and they topped-up the coffee when requested. I liked the rustic charm of the hotel and the interior décor had a certain shabby chic which was commendable. If you require a good value hotel in the centre of Paris, this is the place. I will definitely stay at Hotel du Nord on my next trip to Paris.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel du Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Nord

Address: 47, rue Albert Thomas, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#423 Business Hotel in Paris
#483 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Du Nord Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Nord, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel du Nord to your Saves list