We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll either love it or hate it.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Refuge des Fondues

Le Refuge des Fondues
17 rue des Trois-Freres, 75018 Paris, France (Montmartre)
0142552265
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,471 of 13,202 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $22 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Montmartre
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“You'll either love it or hate it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This place will definitely split opinions. It's small and you sit elbow to elbow with the people beside you at one of two long narrow tables running the length of the restaurant. Ladies have to climb over the table to get to the seat against the wall. The menu have two choices on it - either meat or cheese fondue. We had the cheese - it was OK but not as good as I've had elsewhere. The wine is served in babies bottles with the ends of the teats cut off.

As the place fills up it gets hotter and more raucous. As I said - you'll either love it or loathe it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    229
    67
    35
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best time in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have been to Les Refuge des Fondues two times now and both times were absolutely the best time I had while in Paris. The food in fantastic, service is great, and I have always met cool people sitting next to me! I will always return !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice and easy going place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Really good food, the place is really funny and the atmosphere is really good! Price little high, but the food is pretty much, you won't get out hungry from there! it is a really nice place to try for a funny night in Montmatre, which is a fascinating quarters as well!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere-went with a large group of friends!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We are visiting my best friend who lives in Paris and we decided to hit this place up since its one of her favorite vegetarian option with a great atmosphere. Plan on it being busy-you may have to wait. There are only 2 long tables-family style seating.. Yes, I had to climb over the table to get to the other side! I think what made this restaurant fun was the people we went with and the other crowds around! Great service! Food is okay, loved drinking wine out of baby bottles-like I said before, all about the experience! It's in a fun place where there are other bars to go to -just remember that it might be hard to find a cab ( we closed down one bar and the metro wasn't up and running yet) so walk in groups!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Go for the experience and atmosphere- not quality of food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We've been to Le Refuge des Fondues on two separate trips to Paris and have always had a blast. We've tried both the beef and cheese fondue and regardless of which one you pick, you're going to wish you had tried the other as well. So, if you go with a group of people, I recommend mixing it up and ordering both.
The atmosphere is why we keep going back. Huge amounts of wine out of baby bottles, fondue at your table, and visiting with your table mates is what makes this place great. It does get quite warm, so make sure to order a bottle of water to combat the heat (vs. guzzling wine).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Refuge des Fondues also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Refuge des Fondues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Refuge des Fondues, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.