We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-crafted cocktails” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Experimental Cocktail Club

Experimental Cocktail Club
37 rue Saint-Sauveur, 75002 Paris, France (Opéra)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #722 of 13,448 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Opéra
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Well-crafted cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This litte place is tucked away in Le Marais, without a sign, marked only by a single towering bouncer. But behind the heavy curtain is a dimly lit, tiny bar that makes some the best cocktails in town. Most of the black-clad patrons are engaged in hush-hush conversations over cocktails containing obscure ingredients. There's something very clandestine about ECC...it's the kind of place you might come to lay low after a successful jewel heist, or maybe to plot to overthrow the despot of a tropical island nation. Nothing 'experimental' about this place, though -- they know exactly what they are doing...and they'd better when charging ~20 euros/drink. This place is a must for cocktails drinkers and jewel thieves.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    37
    3
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Perfect for a romantic cocktail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We loved this place. Beautiful cave like interior. The waiter quickly handed us the menu and found us a seat, even though the place was pretty busy. I had two different cocktails and both worked really well. I wish I could remember the names but I explained that I did not like sweet and preferred some spice and both recommendations were perfect.

We moved onto a jazz club but I wish we had spent the evening here instead.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great spot for a drink or two”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Cozy little bar tucked on to a quiet side street in the 2nd Arrondissement. Prices are a little high, but this is a place to have one, two drinks tops. Staff are extremely courteous, though the doorman can be a little brusque.

Get there early if you expect to get in, let alone get a seat as the space is tiny, about the size of a cozy living room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Unusual cocktails at a price that makes them worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stopped by on a Thursday evening just after opening to try some unusual cocktails. The mood is very dark but very cozy and almost romantic. There were three male bar staff working on the night we were there and we were immediately presented with a menu and a place to sit. They were really attentive all night long and everyone who came in got personalized service right away. Quite impressive and something you'd expect at a restaurant but not at a bar.

The bar is down a small street and is pretty much unmarked except for a plaque on the door. It's quite clear there's "something" behind the heavy curtains but you have to know what you're looking for to find it. It's probably a good thing though because it's a small space and if it was a bar that anyone noticed while walking past they'd be overcrowded and that would kill some of the "secret" feeling.

The cocktails may look pricy, but they're quite exceptional and nothing you'll have had elsewhere. The mixes contain many odd ingredients I've not seen used in cocktails before and after two cocktails each we were quite drunk, so it's clear there's a lot of alcohol in them! We also got served almonds and there's wireless internet if you need it, just ask for the password. We wish we could've stayed longer but we hadn't eaten and the cocktails were a strong reminder that we needed to eat before drinking any more. But we'll be back!

I saw in another review that someone was denied entry on a weekend. I can see how they may be more "picky" on Fri/Sat nights if the bar is full of people already as it's very small. It's of course a bit sad if they have to resort to that but it kind of makes sense once you've been in. Small bars aren't much fun when they're packed full with no place to move.

If you're in the mood for unusual cocktails and a cozy but really good bar with great staff, drop by for a cocktail or two, but come early as it will fill up quickly.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Worthwhile, fantastic crowd, exceptional cocktails and great dj”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We loved the place everything from the dorman to the cocktails were special. The crowd is very hip and you will have a good time if you like to sip japanes bar perfected cocktails while you listen to a senegalese song or a wonderful electrojazz tune. This is a place we definetely recommed to visit if you are in the mood for bar hopping in Paris. The vibe is more intnationalnthan french though. We just want to go again and try more cocktails, try the old cuban its fantastic

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Experimental Cocktail Club also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Experimental Cocktail Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Experimental Cocktail Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.