We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot, very good food, friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cote Bergamote

Cote Bergamote
8 Rue de Montfaucon, 75006 Paris, France (Saint-Germain-des-Pres)
0143265056
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Save up to 40% when you reserve online *
Cote Bergamote is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,760 of 13,200 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $37 - $147
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Saint-Germain-des-Pres
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lovely spot, very good food, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We chose the restaurant for lunch on our last day in Paris.
The weather was warm and sunny, so we dined outdoors.
The food was fresh, flavorful and tasty.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    74
    22
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Kind and attentive wait staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Spoke English flawlessly. Delicious meal. I had sea bass as recommended by our waiter. Very reasonably priced.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Eclectic French in quiet area in St. Germaine de Pres”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Avoided the tourist throngs around Rue de Buci, and head for this lovely and quiet restaurant in the square off just off Blvd St. Germaine. Food was lovely and at times unexpected, and service outstanding. Were fortunate to land an outside table. The salads were extraordinary and fresh, and the chocolate dessert to die-for.

Would return again in a heartbeat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“We were very lucky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

... to get in, since we (family of 5) had no reservation and it was 9PM on a Saturday night in July. And we're American. I'm grateful they found a table for us.

All the diners were packed in like vermicelli, but instead of being cramped it was kind of fun. The waitress was competent, patient and very nice. The "house red" was excellent.

I'm pretty sure I had pate followed by coquilles, and that two others had duck they proclaimed the best ever. It's been a week, so I'm sorry that I can't report exactly what we ate; but everything was delightful.

Sometimes I write reviews of places just so I'll remember to go back when I'm in the place again. This is one of them. A winner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Light, imaginative cuisine and a warm welcome...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Our final Paris dinner of this visit came at Cote Bergamote, a place we'd tried with good success about five years before. Again, the place did not disappoint. It was a warm and sunny early Thursday evening after a rainy day, and after a day mostly spent out in the weather we were looking for something relaxing and on the lighter side. We both really enjoyed a goat-cheese salad with the chevre emerging in little filo-wrapped parcels -- something we'd seen previously on this visit but, in this version, particularly good. My dinner was a French variation on chicken tikka masala; as with the chevre, there were nice influences being added in the kitchen at Bergamote. Quite a few of the dishes have an international origin, or are French classics but with one sort of twist or another, so prepare for some subtle but nice surprises. Serving sizes were agreeably moderate, and prices, both on the food and wine end of things, were easy to bear as well.

The staff is multilingual (not only did our ultra-friendly and efficient server speak English, he could lapse into an authentic Texas accent, thanks to an interesting family background). The place itself is small but comfortable; in warm weather there is outdoor seating as well, although we went for an indoor table by a nice big open window. (Also, for what it may or may not be worth, people who don't get along well on stairs will be glad to hear that the toilets are on the same level as the main dining space, down a little corridor!)

We found Cote Bergamote to be charming, affordable, friendly, and delicious, and we hope it won't have to be another five years before we can return...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cote Bergamote also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Cote Bergamote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cote Bergamote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.