We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quick stop” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crypte Archeologique

Crypte Archeologique
7, Place Jean-Paul II | parvis Notre-Dame, 75004 Paris, France
+33 (0)1 55 42 50 10
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #278 of 636 Attractions in Paris
Type: Ancient Ruins, Cultural
Attraction details
Cedar Hills, Utah
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A quick stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a quick stop site if you already have the Paris Museum Pass, otherwise I wouldn't pay to see it. It takes you underground on the Isle de la cite to see the ancient ruins of the city when it was Roman.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    41
    37
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
105 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Under the Notre Dame”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

It was interesting to explore the findings under the Notre Dame. Loved the pier area. If this were the first such exhibit we had seen I think we would have been more impressed, but it was much smaller and more commercial than others in other cities in Europe, so we give it an average rating. Still worth seeing.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good info about the history of Paris from the start of the city, 1BC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Good informative place to visit with a lot of modern displays, 3D, of what happened on this location of the city. Nice natural display of a part of the inderground remains of the old city. Give it 1-1 1/2 hour and you will know a lot more. Impressive.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“city development history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very well done computer graphics of the city over the ages. Nice underground show of layers and growth.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent if you enjoy city development history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was my 2nd favourite museum in Paris (after Musee des Arts et Metiers), though it's probably not for everyone.

What I enjoyed most was not the ruins, but the relief maps of Paris through the ages. Very good models and explanations of how Paris grew from Roman times, the Middle ages, through til the 17th century. Showed the changing city limits, density, flow and use of the river. Some good interactive computer modeling of the building of Notre Dame, too.

Included on the Museum Pass, no line ups at all, children under 18 free.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crypte Archeologique also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Crypte Archeologique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crypte Archeologique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.