We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History Buff's Delight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crypte Archeologique

Crypte Archeologique
7, Place Jean-Paul II | parvis Notre-Dame, 75004 Paris, France
+33 (0)1 55 42 50 10
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #278 of 634 Attractions in Paris
Type: Ancient Ruins, Cultural
Attraction details
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“History Buff's Delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stopped in the Crypte since we had the Paris Museum pass, we figured we had nothing to lose. We were truly intrigued by these ruins right under the street! There is a ton of information so be prepared to read. As others have said, most of the information is in French. It is certainly something to see for any history lover!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    41
    36
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Do it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

After visiting Notre Dame, it's worth popping underground just in front of the cathedral for 20-30 minutes to see what was uncovered below. No line whatsoever. Information cards in many languages explain the history of the area. A peaceful contrast to the craziness above and you can breeze through. Great spot to cool off or get out of the rain.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Stifling. Stifling. Only info in French.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Some displays had comments in both English & French. And, while we read French, it does take us longer, so we couldn't figure out why the disiparity.

But the was NO air conditioning. In fact there was no moving air. It was like being in an oven. Operating such a modern site like this is unprofessional. We would never return.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
619 reviews 619 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 219 cities Reviews in 219 cities
362 helpful votes 362 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We really didn't expect this to be as good as it was. Learning about Roman building and baths from early Paris were informative and interesting. Worthwhile

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Different perspective ...worth the visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

After seeing the towers of the Notre Dame, my partner and I headed straight for the Crypte Archeologique. We had Paris Museum Passes so didn't have to pay or queue, although there was no queue anyway.

I believe there were some information cards available in English (or Spanish?) which we didn't pick up but this would have been helpful as much of the signage on the walls was in French.

Overall though, enough was in English to give you an insight into what you were seeing, as well as the fact that the unearthed remains was fascinating to see and imagine what it was like in its heyday. Definitely worth a visit when in the area (plus it's only 4 Euro (I think) if you don't have a Paris Museum Pass).

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crypte Archeologique also viewed

 

Been to Crypte Archeologique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crypte Archeologique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.