We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated and overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yen

Yen
22,rue Saint-Benoit, 75007 Paris, France (Luxembourg)
01 45 44 11 18
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,734 of 13,440 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $0 - $147
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Luxembourg
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Overrated and overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Yen came highly recommended, which made the so-so evening all the more disappointing. The food was quite nice, but not so outstanding as to warrant the sky-high prices. The "minimalist" decor consisted of totally bare walls that made for a noise level so high that it was impossible to carry a conversation across our tiny table for two without raising our voices. The service was hurried and impersonal. We had opted for the tasting menu to get a good overview of the cuisine, but waiters just set our dishes in front of us on the run, without even looking at us, much less giving us any information about what we were being served. We will neither revisit nor recomment to friends.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    32
    12
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We hade an excellent dinner there. The food is absolutely delicious, the place beautifil and the staff really nice. But honestly there should be a balance between the size and the prices... And 30 euros for just two langoustines or 8 ( very very ) small unagi sushis is really overpriced. But if you can afford it, do not hesitate!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“True Japanese in Paris”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Not again a sushi bar, but a real Japanese restaurant in Paris. Food was great and well presented. Service was somewhat non conventional but very kind and helpful. As 90% of guests were Asian and also seem to enjoy it a lot, this restaurant us certainly worthwhile to visit.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A japanese "pearl" just behind St Germain Church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

If you stroll in the St Germain district do not miss this hidden pearl a very high end authentic japanese restaurant. The ambiance is quite simple, but accurate and as you step in, you recognize the level by the refined japanese clients confirming your good choice.
The plates are just perfect: an incredible balance of delicate japanese cuisine with a hint of fantasy and a great aesthetic and taste pleasure! I had a wonderful St Jacques starter and "Tempura no Moriawase" my friends a "OBento t Soba" a big bento box with a taste of different japanese specialties, "Mori Soba" the specialty of the restaurant: hand made spaghetti to taste cold, on a basket plate, or warm in a japanese soup. Excellent dessert I had a Japanese way lemon cheese cake and a Matcha tea "Milles feuilles": just to die for! Price are quite high 10 to15€ for a starter or a dessert 25 to 35 € for a main course or 38,5€ for a Bento Soba but definitely worth it. A great discovery.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHANTILLY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best Japanese restaurant in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Yen is by far the best Japanese restaurant in Paris. The tempura are absolutely fabulous, the menu doesn't have that much depth, but to be quite honest it's a question of quality and not quantity. A must!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yen also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Yen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.