We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Japanese restaurant in Paris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yen

Yen
22,rue Saint-Benoit, 75007 Paris, France (Luxembourg)
01 45 44 11 18
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,757 of 13,462 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $0 - $147
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Luxembourg
CHANTILLY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best Japanese restaurant in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Yen is by far the best Japanese restaurant in Paris. The tempura are absolutely fabulous, the menu doesn't have that much depth, but to be quite honest it's a question of quality and not quantity. A must!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    32
    12
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good - and thanks for a good laugh to the reviewer below”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

It was ok but we didnt really go to France to have Japanese food. Still, it was ok.

But we wanted to say thanks to the outraged Brit below who got so angry when he tried to have lunch at noon and dinner at 5pm and found out the rest of the world eats at normal times. Welcome to Europe! We dont stuff all our meals between 8am and 5pm and then spend 7h on an empty stomach before going to bed, we space them out. We had such a laugh, thank you.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Eggplant with Miso, Shrimp and Vegetables”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This place is a must for Japanese in Paris. I live in the neighborhood and eat here every couple of weeks. The aubergine with miso paste, shrimp and veggies is the perfect mix of soft texture from the oven roasted eggplant with rich and powerful miso paste and fresh and bright veggies and shrimp. We get the large size portion for dinner and thats it. Also the lunch bento box is impressive for 38€ as is the hand rolled Soba noodles. This is like being in Tokyo and I adore this restaurant along with Aki on Rue St Anne.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“The real Japanese noodles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

If you want a very authentic Japanese noodles in a nice setting, go taste the soba especially the Zara soba. After too many French cuisine perhaps a time to switch to a light soba dish.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
1 review
“Kyoto with a Parisian flair”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

What a wonderful surprise to discover Yen, literally around the corner from where we were staying near Saint Germain des Pres. The food is elegant, visually stunning, and perfectly seasoned. The prix fixe is a bargain given the cost of an equivalent dinner in a French restaurant!! The staff are outstanding, Japanese who are as comfortable speaking English as French. Dine upstairs as the simple visuals provide a complement to the outstanding food

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yen also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Yen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.