We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stella Maris

Stella Maris
4,rue Arsene-Houssaye, Paris, France (Champs-Élysées)
01 42 89 16 22
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,586 of 12,460 restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Champs-Élysées
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Overall, everything was very nice. The food was excellent, especially the tuna appetizer, along with my main dish lamb chops. The atmosphere was settling with the waiters, professional. My wife picked up on some small mistakes, but, the service in my opinion was very good and sincere. Food and drinks were good and atmosphere was comfortable! The location was 3 minutes from our hotel right near the Arch. Perfect.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    18
    11
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

When you are on vacation in Paris and have limited time you want to make every meal count. We were so disappointed with Stella Maris. The service was horrible with only two people serving the entire restaurant including clearing and wine. We had to pour our own wine and water. The opening sardine course was terrible -- the worst thing we've eaten in our 10-day Eurpoean tour. We were so looking forward to a great night out. Take your money and go to Le Tour d' Argent which blew this restaurant away. Now THAT was a fantastic meal. We'd bet Stella Maris will be out of business by our next trip to Paris.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge of Weir, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

The food at Stella Maris did not live up to our expectations. Everything looks and sounds good but the standards of cooking were not what I would expect for a place charging the prices it does. Nearly £300 for dinner for two. Mind you, It is Paris!!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My all time favorite restaurant in the WORLD!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We had eaten at Stella Maris in 2000 and 2004, but I had forgotten how wonderful the food is. I had never thought of salmon as "melt in your mouth"; but it did. And the goat's cheese/ mango taster was phenomenal. My husband's steak was perfect and there was an extravagant sparkler display for my birthday dessert presention. We'd eat there every year for by birthday, if it wasn't nearly 4000 miles away!!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A must for a special occasion! Art deco, quaint with just 20 seats.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Exceptional, gourmet, colorful food that WOWED us at every course! Went there to celebrate our 25th Anniversary on the recommendation from Alain, the concierge at Sofitel Arc de Triomphe. We originally booked Le Bristol but decided against it and took a short stroll to Stella Maris for an unforgetable and lovely evening. Our waiter, Nick was a joy to speak with was fully attentive. A beautiful sparkler dessert display wishing us happy anniversary written in chocolate!! Highly recommend this high-end, ultra-gourmet, yet down-to-earth staff to anyone wanting a truly remarkable gourmet experience in a quaint, candle-lit setting.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stella Maris also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Stella Maris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stella Maris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.