We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinning for a Special Time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maxim's

Maxim's
3,rue Royale, Paris, France (Champs-Élysées)
01 42 65 27 94
Improve this listing
Ranked #758 of 13,382 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Champs-Élysées
Guadalajara, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dinning for a Special Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

As always has been, we was received by Marc-Henri, and he already knows who we are. I just want to let you know that my first time in Maxims was in 1985, when it was one of the most hard-to-find reservations. I had to make it since 3 months in ahead. As you guess, everything has changed, inclusive prices has dropped.
Since Maxims changed owners, it becomes a different kind of restaurant.
Prices are average for a good restaurant, this week we dinner in 7 different restaurants and almost every one has the same prices.
For our surprise they has in the menu a "TURBOT" fish, if not the most delicious fish int earth, is one of them. We have payed for this fish a higher price in America, than in Maxims.
In a few words you should include one dinner at Maxims in your visit to Paris.
The only thing that we missed, as is has been since they change owner, is the crowded room and the serving at same time for all the tables.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc-Henri C, Responsable relations publiques at Maxim's, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Hello,
Thank you very much for your nice critical.
I transfer to the staff and hope to see you again in this mythical place.
I wish you the best for 2014.
Kind regards.
Marc-Henri for Maxim’s
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    46
    15
    17
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Like a Dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We had booked our wedding anniversary dinner at Maxim's four months in advance, and were told that they would be giving us a special dessert in celebration of it. Not only did they remember to do so, but they gave us the best table in the room and announced to everyone that was there that night that it was our anniversary as they played Mendelssohn's Wedding March as they brought out an unbelievable delicious pear and chocolate confection with silver sparklers spouting from the top! Afterwards, we were invited to dance by the stage while the singer sang 'As Time Goes By' to us, one of our most favorite songs. Maxim's did everything to ensure that our anniversary was the most special night of our trip to Paris, from the excellent waitstaff, the delicious food, and the gorgeous Belle Epoque environment of the beautifully appointed dining room. We were transfixed. We will most certainly be coming back to Maxim's!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc-Henri C, Responsable relations publiques at Maxim's, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Hello,
Thank you very much for your nice critical.
I transfer to the staff and hope to see you again in this mythical place.
I wish you the best for 2014.
Kind regards.
Marc-Henri for Maxim’s
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A wonderful evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

After many years of planning we finally had a wedding anniversary dinner at Maxim's, and it was everything we expected, and more. To say it was a trip back in time was an understatement, but it was all the better for it. From our wonderful table we were able to fully enjoy the live music. Food, wines, music, service... all superb. Well done Maxim's, for NOT changing with the times.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc-Henri C, Responsable relations publiques at Maxim's, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Hello,
Thank you very much for your nice critical.
I transfer to the staff and hope to see you again in this mythical place.
I wish you the best for 2014.
Kind regards.
Marc-Henri for Maxim’s
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Journey Back to La Belle Epoque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We celebrated a birthday chez Maxim and were immediately transported to a more gentile and elegant time and place. M. Marc Henri warmly welcomed us at our table, from which we had a full view of this historic and time-honored restaurant. Service was thoughtful, professional and courteous, without being obsequious, and the food was to our high expectations. The setting of la belle epoque decorations and murals, the sonorous sounds of the chanteuse singing "La Vie En Rose," the couples twirling on the dance floor and the wine dancing in my head all added to a night of magic - as if being swept into a movie like "Gigi" or "Midnight in Paris." To top it off, the special mille-feuille birthday cake, complete with sparklers and fresh raspberries, was one of the most delicious and memorable desserts we have ever had (and I love desserts). Yes, the prices are high, but life is short, and an evening as enchanting as one at Maxim's is simply priceless. Go. Savor. And dance on your way home.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc-Henri C, Responsable relations publiques at Maxim's, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Hello,
Thank you very much for your nice critical.
I transfer to the staff and hope to see you again in this mythical place.
I wish you the best for 2014.
Kind regards.
Marc-Henri for Maxim’s
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Everyone should go to Maxim's at least once!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were on our honeymoon in Paris the last two weeks, and we had planned for a long time for our last night to include dinner at Maxim's. It was a wonderful evening. The live music set a very romantic mood, and the food was delicious. The service was the best we experienced in Paris during our two week stay. Part of the mystic is created just by allowing one's thoughts to dwell on how Maxim's must have been like in decades past. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because the prices seem unreasonably high. I would expect the to be higher than most other Paris restaurants, but not as high as they are. Also, we had told them when making reservations that this would be the highlight dinner of our honeymoon, so I would have expected a little recognition of this (special dessert or something). Still...we wouldn't have missed the experience!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc-Henri C, Responsable relations publiques at Maxim's, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Hello,
Thank you very much for your nice critical.
I transfer to the staff and hope to see you again in this mythical place.
I wish you the best for 2014.
Kind regards.
Marc-Henri for Maxim’s
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxim's also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Maxim's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maxim's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.