We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as we'd hoped” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maceo

Maceo
15,rue des Petits-Champs, 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)
01 42 97 53 85
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Maceo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,701 of 12,477 restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Louvre / Place Vendôme
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not as good as we'd hoped”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had eaten at Willi's on our last trip to Paris and I loved it. This time we pre-booked a table at Maceo because the owners are the same and the food is apparently more veg/fish leaning.

The website was good and everything looked appetising. But on the night we were underwhelmed. Nice but not great food and relatively high prices. The wines were a bit disappointing too.

The place was very busy by the time we left and clearly very popular with affluent looking young Americans, so maybe we just ordered poorly.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    80
    48
    40
    27
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect romantic dinner in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Celebrated our 10 year wedding anniversary dinner here in style. Beautiful large restaurant in the heart of Paris. The menu options are to die for, traditional French with a twist. Highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Fish was tasteless (rascasse). Wine was excellent (Pouilly Fuisse) but at nearly 50 euros a bottle is should be. Service and environment very good. Unfortunately I would not go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Pouilly fusee wine served with the appetizer was absolutely exquisite, but the mushroom appetizer (a "choux") was not hot. I”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

The appetizer was less than fresh. The mushroom croute was not fresh The first course wine was dreamy. The first course of roasted fish was absolutely was tasty (quail). The final course of roasted fish was good but muted by its surroundings. . The closing ices were delicate but insufficient to raise the bar to "excellent.".


The final suggestion of coffee after so much alcohol was kind!

I would definitely return to see if a complete 100% is warranted.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

We ate here on the recommendation of parisian friends. Perhaps our expectations were too high, but the food while okay, was not great. For the prices we were paying I would have rather eaten at on of the excellent cafes that abound in Paris. The one exception was a wonderful plum tart.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maceo also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Maceo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maceo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.