We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Relais Gascon

Le Relais Gascon
6 rue des Abbesses, 75018 Paris, France (Montmartre)
01 45 58 58 22
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,442 of 13,398 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Montmartre
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Unexpected find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We ate here on a whim because the actual restauraunt we were looking for was closed. We ordered the escargot, the vegetarian salad, and a grilled steak with blue cheese sauce. EVERY part of that meal was devine. My friend who was a vegetarian kept comparing all the rest of her dishes during our paris trip to that salad. The place was quaint, charming, and friendly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    237
    52
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice find in fun Montmartre area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Really nice Southern France menu with great preparation and generous portions. Nice drinks and wines and a wonderful warm atmosphere. Servers were excellent, fun, and more than happy to help with our broken French. We would definitely return and bring friends.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Super-size salads”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This restaurant caters for all, including vegetarians, vegans, omnivores and those on the Paleo (potatoes can be removed if you exclude them from your diet). Tasty, reasonably priced, and great service. Try the house wines and by all means order the salads because they are filling and unusual! In fact, make sure you are hungry when you visit the Gascon. I would suggest avoiding the table by the toilets on the first floor, for obvious reasons. We went for lunch on a weekday, so it was not too busy, but I would probably avoid Fri+Sat nights, because there is limited space. That said, it is a family friendly restaurant, so great for them, but not the ideal location for those who prefer a quiet lunch/dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, New Hampshire
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great options for vegetarians - huge salads”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

great casual french restaurant in the Montmartre area. Great food options for both vegetarians and carnivores, which can be a challenge to find in Paris. service was great and felt welcomed even though our party spoke only a minimal amount of French. Highly recommend their onion soup and vegetarian salad.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Simple eatery with great salads”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Typical French eatery with the greatest salads. They are huge and filled with veggies, meat, fish and crispy potatoes. Very cheap & friendly staff as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Relais Gascon also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Relais Gascon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Relais Gascon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.