We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very memorable experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Jules Verne

Le Jules Verne
Champ-de-Mars, 2nd Level | Eiffel Tower, 73810 Paris, France (Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon)
01 45 55 61 44
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #522 of 12,461 restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A very memorable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

My husband, 2 children (aged 9 & 12) and I visited Le Jules Verne for lunch on 10 December. From the private elevator ride up to the end the service was excellent. We all enjoyed our meals and they made every one of us feel welcome.

It is quite expensive so a special treat. It is not a restaurant that offers children's meals but if your children are open to experiencing a wide variety of food and have a mature attiitude, this is a lovely fine dining restaurant with a very impressive view.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,914 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    1,057
    438
    198
    126
    95
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Whats not to like?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

You enjoy one of the best meals you ever at this restaurant. The design of the interior is avant-garde and the view is one of a kind. We also enjoyed very good service. Go for the tasting menu, and we spent EUR 600 for two including tips and fantastic wine with a private lift to the top of the world. If you can afford it; a must!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What a view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I'm not sure that I understand all of the bad reviews of Le Jules Verne. We were there for lunch last week, and thought that the service was superb, the food was excellent and the experience will last a lifetime. We were so excited for our window table (which we got, reserving 90 days in advance), and you can't beat eating excellent food sitting on top of Paris. The food highlights were the stuffed chicken wing with Chestnut soup, the fois gras, and baby duck. Being wisked to the restaurant in the private elevator is pretty exiting as well. If we are back in Paris anytime soon, we'll surely come back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Go for the view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Good, not great, service and food in the gourmet arena. A definite cut or two below both Le Cinq (my favorite night in Paris) and La Tour D'Argent (an extremely close 2nd). Go here for a late lunch to see the view change from day to evening, reserve far enough in advance for a chance at a window table. Or just go to the top of the tower and have a glass of champagne with the view. PS the chocolate soufflé was a flop.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT, USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Michelin star for the view, but not for food!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Visited Jules Verne in November of 2013 for lunch with a family of four. Expectations were quite high, but other than stunning views of Paris we could not see how this restaurant can maintain a Michelin star.

The place is in need of renovation! May be at night it is not noticeable, but during the daylight it is a sorry picture. As for food, there are so many better places in Paris! My wife found a hair in her fish and showed it to the waiter. No apology, no attempt to offer any sort of replacement while she waited for her dish to be redone -- just a blank stare. My son ordered a cheese course. I can honestly say this was the least sophisticated cheese selection I have seen anywhere in Europe.

Some reviews mention that place is expensive. Yes, it is as most Michelin star'ed restaurants in Paris are. I would gladly pay this price again if the food and service was worth it. Needless to say, we won't be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Jules Verne also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Jules Verne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Jules Verne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.