We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had to experience it, but!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Jules Verne

Le Jules Verne
Avenue Gustave Eiffel, 73810 Paris, France (Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon)
01 45 55 61 44
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #630 of 13,398 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon
Shepparton, Australia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“We had to experience it, but!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

How could we go to Paris and not experience this icon? As a group of 8 we made the necessary booking months in advance and eagerly waited to attend. On arrival we were shown to our table and of course were blown away by the stunning view and the ambience of the restaurant. Generally the evening and the dinner were fine. The food was nice, well presented but certainly not stunning. Having dined at many other restaurants in France we had been served better. The most disappointing part of the night was the drink service. The lady who was looking after us was really off her game and we literally had to beg for drinks, including water. The remainder of the staff did a good job and were attentive but not intrusive. Unfortunately the drinks waiter let the whole team down. I am not disappointed we went as it is something everyone should do if they can however I would not go back and came away a little let down. Being on level two of this iconic attraction and enjoying the view is something I will always remember. The food will be remembered as being nice, but not up to the standard it should be for the price that is paid. The service will long be remembered as extremely poor.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,260
    539
    248
    144
    114
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northville, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We enjoyed a fabulous lunch at Le Jules Verne. While our table was not located next to a window, the view and service were still great. The best part was the private elevator and private entrance to the viewing deck. Everyone is our group enjoyed the meal!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Entirely adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We dined at Le Jules Verne on the last night of a 10 day vacation to Provence and Paris. As others have indicated, the view is stunning. The service was excellent as well, with the staff anticipating your needs. The atmosphere inside is subdued, which is a nice change from the contemporary cacophony of most dining spots, though it seems a little tired. The food was of excellent quality, though nothing adventurous or memorable. Ultimately, we felt it was an entirely adequate evening, as we left the restaurant feeling the overall experience was a pleasant evening: it was "nice", but the costs are considerable. We had the opportunity to eat at one of the "50 Best List" restaurants in Girona last year, and in comparison the entire experience was higher quality, far more memorable, and a better value with more and better quality food and wine at about 150-200E less. Le Jules Verne is a classic dining experience, but it's one of the "Old Guard" which does not seem to be doing much to improve its overall global standing, but rather is hanging on to its one star.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great food, Great view, Great experience for the 1st time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Always try to book this restaurant to avoid the lines for Eiffel tower. Private entrance and elevator to the 2nd level of the tower. After eating, you can take pictures outside if you ask them to let you out. Food is excellent. Wine is expensive and the view is marvelous.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Maybe bad luck or our worst experience ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We got a table just at the kitchen-exit - NO view.
We were not allowed to order à la carte even though the internet site stated this - overpriced menu to order (165€ pp). Service unfriendly after arguing with them.
Meal size was as small as our opinion of the establishment.

Worst part: Having to visit the toilet inside the restaurant right after eating this food and flushing down 165€
Best part: Not having to wait in queue to get on the tower.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Jules Verne also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Jules Verne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Jules Verne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.