We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Grand Cafe Capucines

Le Grand Cafe Capucines
4,boulevard des Capucines, Paris, France (Opera / Bourse)
01 43 12 19 00
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Le Grand Cafe Capucines is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,171 of 13,870 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Gastropub, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Opera / Bourse
Description: The restaurant's refined decor is a faithful illustration of the Art Nouveau style, with its original mosaics and its crystal Saint-Louis chandeliers a truly Parisian institution located on the Place des Ternes. The head chef prepares a refined, traditional French cuisine using the freshest ingredients. An immensely popular restaurant with both Parisians and discerning tourists, who appreciate beautifully prepared food. --Veritable insitution parisienne de la place des Ternes, son decor raffine est fidele au style "Art Nouveau" avec ses mosaiques d'origine et ses lustres de cristal de Saint-Louis, le Chef de cuisine propose une carte traditionnelle raffinee offrant un large choix de produits frais. Son banc d'ecailles en est d'ailleurs une belle illustration.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Popped in for a lunch, the service was very good and the food was traditional if a little over priced for the qaulity and the portion size. The location is of course very good and so it makes a good spot to have a coffee at least and watch the world wizz by.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    312
    154
    87
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“very French”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had a lovely evening here with friends. The waiter was fun and knowledgeable and good with our friends child. The food was good, but the wine we were advised was out of this world!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
400 helpful votes 400 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon combo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I recently had tea at the Grand Café on a very cold afternoon. I thought €13 for a dessert and drink of my choice was good value ( from 3pm to 5pm ). While it wasn't the most memorable tea, it was decent and did the trick. The crême brûlée was lovely.
The staff was attentive and easy to flag down for some extra hot water or the bill.
The café in itself is lovely. It attracts both locals and tourists.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Was here last time in Paris five years ago. This is still one of the best restaurants in Paris. Onion soup was great. I had stesk which wss cooked just right. My wife had the veal which was very good. To finish we had a selection of le grand cafe desserts

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“it was much better while ago”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

For last two years it was my favorite place in Paris. Sea food was fresh and really wonderful. Overpriced I would say but it was worth it.

During my last visits to Le Grand Café Capucines I was disappointed and suppose will not dream about going there again as I did before.

I ate twice:
Lunch – onion soup and fish were just average.

Dinner – duck was perfect but Royal plate was terrible, I left almost everything on the plate, even my favorite crab.

It looks like the cafe becomes more tourist place, than the place of great French food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Grand Cafe Capucines also viewed

 
 

Been to Le Grand Cafe Capucines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Grand Cafe Capucines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.