We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent drinks but highly overrated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Fumoir

Le Fumoir
6,rue de l'Amiral Coligny, 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)
01 42 92 00 24
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,458 of 13,373 Restaurants in Paris
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Louvre / Place Vendôme
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Decent drinks but highly overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Wanting to see a bit of the bar scene in Paris, we came here as it kept coming up on guides and the like as a quintessential Parisian experience. Perhaps it simply wasn't what we were looking for, it's certainly not too bad of a place to lounge around with a simple and overpriced cocktail. They have a long list of the classics, which are all done well enough. I don't really get the hype.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    214
    68
    27
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“A GREAT WAY TO SPEND AN HOUR OT TWO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

After visiting the Louvre, step across the road and relax at this establishment. It caters for the basic coffee drinker to a more sophisticated diner. We have been there twice and both times fully enjoyed the meal and watching the world go bye or looking at the Louvre. One thing to keep in mind is that this place gets busy but they won't move you on, so relax, it just means you may have to wait a little extra for service. Don't worry the waiters are flat out trying to help and always offer a smile. Please remember to tip if you like the service.....Enjoy

Oh yes the price varies greatly depending on your order, however you can order a set grouping which is cheaper and you get to stay longer and ear desert, nothing wrong with that......

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York, United States
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“The Smoking Is a HUGE Problem, BUT the Food and Service are Very Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stumbled upon this place on our visit to Paris because it was walking distance from our hotel. As it turns out it was a great find. It was a really good meal, tasting menu even, for the price. But like any other bistro in Paris the smoking kills the ambience. It's sad that smokers don't realize that they interfere with other people's ability to enjoy simple things like eating and breathing. And unfortunately most restaurants keep their windows and doors open so even if you are inside where smoking is prohibited you still smell the smoke and in fact get "hot boxed" in. But this is a place I would recommend if you are staying nearby and happen to be walking by, you will not be disappointed with the quality of the food and the taste, as well as the drinks and the service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Surprising coziness adjacent to the Louvre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My expectations were dumbfounded as I entered a quaint, dark, country looking library instead of a smokey "smoking den". Attractive, eclectic tables and chairs (some were upholstered armchairs), book lined or print-framed walls, and subtly shaded lighting create a wonderfully relaxing ambience. Though our young waitress seemed stressed, and did bring my glass of wine as I took my last bites of dinner, this did not harm the wonderful memory I have of Le Fumoir. Oh, and yes, the food was simple, delicious, and priced fairly, I think, for a lovely evening!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My wife and I recently dined at Le Fumoir. I am a vegetarian, so we are always a little leery of restaurants -- especially French restaurants -- because we don't know what might be on offer. However, Le Fumoir had good veggie options, and the other offerings on the menu were also outstanding. There is a very good wine list, the food is delicious, and the service is good. And we had a fabulous dessert. The price is also quite reasonable. All in the shadow of the Louvre. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Fumoir also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Fumoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Fumoir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.