We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb, Inventive gourmet French chefs in a quaint local's setting.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bistral - CLOSED

Le Bistral
80, rue Lemercier, 75017 Paris, France (Batignolles-Monceau)
01 42 63 59 61
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $88
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Batignolles-Monceau
1 review
“Superb, Inventive gourmet French chefs in a quaint local's setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

You may not expect to get a gourmet eight course meal from highly creative and talented chefs when you walk in and quickly glance around, but prepare to be impressed. Each course on the prix fixe "chef's surprise" menu was excellent. This is a place where Parisians go, not necessarily tourists, so the menu is in French only, but the chefs wait the tables themselves and speak pretty decent English.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One off my favorites in Paris!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Fantastic bistro atmosphere... More than a superb wine-list!!! An evening in Le Bistral is asking for lots off fun, good food, a table full with empty bottles wine and a cab back to the hotel.. ;-)

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of our favorite regular restaurants in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We've become regulars at this restaurant and out of the 7 times we've been here it wowed us every time but once. The restaurant is small, casual, and cozy, with just a couple tables outside. We love to get the Menu Gastronomique, for 58 euros you get essentially 3 appetizers, 2 main plats, and 2 desserts. The food is traditional french with a twist, a touch of daring (tobacco infused chocolate mousse!!!!), a hint of japanese in the presentation. All in all, a great combination. The menu changes every couple weeks. If we had one request, it would be that their price range on the wine started a little lower. Generally their bottles start at 40 euros. They are all great wines, so we really can't complain. We do love to come here, and take all of our out-of-town guests here. We love this place so much that we really have to force ourselves to branch out every now an then just to try other places!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Little Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Top notch service, amazing food.
The first couple of times I passed by I was put off by the average 3.5 mark given by Tripadvisor reviewers, but I read the menu again, looked at their choice of wines again and though I really should eat there.
The service is very attentive and competent, but also warm and friendly.
The food is traditional French but creative. Delicious, actually!
Great wines, large choice.
You have to try this place!
The interior is casual as in not sophisticated, but it's authentic. Prices is a fair bit above the regular 30-40 Euro casual Parisian restaurant (main course+desert+glass of wine+mineral water+espresso), but it is well worth the extra spend.
Enjoy!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't go!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011 via mobile

Food very average, very expensive, a bit dishonest and people working there very rude.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistral also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bistral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.