We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pairs for Valentines” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rotonde

Rotonde
105 Boulevard du Montparnasse, 75006 Paris, France (Luxembourg)
+33 1 43 26 48 26
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,424 of 13,440 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Luxembourg
Description: La Rotonde est une celebre brasserie du 105, boulevard du Montparnasse a Paris, creee en 1911 par Victor Libion
Glasgow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pairs for Valentines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I travelled to Paris for Valentines day with my partner. We had intended to book a restaurant in advance however this proved rather difficult as there was so much choice. We decided to wait and see if there was anywhere close to our hotel that picked our fancy.

This caught my eye the first night we arrived as out hotel was literally just acorss the road. The restuarant always looked very busy (which is normally a good sign) and looked like a traditional French restaurant.After our sightseeing for the day, we had a look at some of the restaurants on Blvd Montpernasse - being Scottish and a basic knowledge of the French language we were looking for somewhere with an English menu.

We went and spoke to an extremely friendly waiter who spoke English very well and advised they had a menu in English. The choice was excellenet and served typically French food. To start, ironically I had the Marinated (Scottish) Salmon which was served very ellegantly, my partner had the Black Pudding with Apple which he said was devine. We both had the Fillet Steak which was cooked to perfection, served with Pepper Sauce and very lovely chuky chips. For dessert I had Creme Brulee which was really too large, but delicious all the same. My partner had Profiteroles which was a much more ample portion.

The only negative about our experience was, being in Paris... for Valentines Day... you can imagine the restaurants were rather busy...This restaurant really was very cramped, the waiters had to squeeze past our tables to serve other guests are our table was no more than 5 inches away from another couple dining beside us.

Over all, a very impressive restuarant - would definiately recommend it and would not hesitate going back if in Paris, however maybe at a less bussier time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    222
    86
    51
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellon, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Barrow loads of oysters!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Had an evening meal after a long day travelling. My wife started with black pudding and apple (which she enjoyed) and then had shoulder of lamb (which she said was some of the nicest lamb she had ever eaten.) I was just recovering from a tummy bug, so chose carefully. Starter - poached eggs with mushrooms - was amazing. Two small dishes each with a little mushroom purée on the bottom; poached eggs sat on the mushroom, and the whole thing was submerged in a mushroom soup - delicious. My main course was a (safe) steak - very nice. Very obvious it is mainly a seafood restaurant - they must have had a truck parked out the back to keep the supply of oysters coming. The place was packed - and it was a freezing Wednesday night in mid February. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Basic food, well served and tasty.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for food en route for our hotel after a long day's sightseeing. Seated by window with good view of the world going by. Friendly enough waiter. Mussels and pate starters, both ok, and promptly served. Both had duck for mains. Very tasty and good portion for hungry walkers. Crepes for pud, re-heated, but ok. Carafe of red wine washed all down. Just what we needed and very enjoyable.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ville D'Avray, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Classical Paris Brasserie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Very good fish, typical Parisian ambiance in the middle of the quintessential Paris.
Price are in line with food quality and service

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had dinner here last Saturday night and it was very good. I called ahead to make a reservation for 4 and it was not a problem (the staff spoke English, but it always seems to help to at least try in French). We got reservation for 8pm and when we got there, they took us to the dining room upstairs which was not that busy yet. The food and wine were excellent - we tried the snails, duck, lamb, steak, shrimp and it was all very good. By the time we were leaving, there were people lined up everywhere waiting for tables (around 10pm), so I was really glad we made a reservation.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rotonde also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Rotonde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rotonde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.