We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey, but working with great products” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Maree

La Maree
1 Rue Daru | Angle des rues : 258 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré et 1 rue Daru, 75008 Paris, France
+33 (0)1 43 80 20 00
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
La Maree is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,146 of 13,200 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $52 - $104
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pricey, but working with great products”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had dinner here last night and thoroughly enjoyed it. Ms. compatidude had the sole (the most expensive we've yet found in Paris), and I had the scallops. The sole was large and excellent. The scallops were perfectly cooked and inventive. We enjoyed a very nice bottle of Sancerre alongside.

Desserts (we tried 3) were spottier. The mousse au chocolat was fantastic, the mille feuilles was good but plain, and the iles flottantes were struggling to get to forgettable.

All in all an excellent meal, though quite pricey.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    167
    56
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful updated classic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Charming old classic that has been re-launched. The food is correct, the fish very fresh and the atmosphere fun. Delicious oysters and oursin and a good cheese board, properly affiné, which we found a rarity in our recent visit to Paris. The menu at €30 for two courses and €39 for three is generous and well priced. Wine list to suit all tastes and pockets. Fun atmosphere and courteous service A joy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“If you like fish, this is the place to go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

huge portions, delicious flavours, lovely wines, excellent value. I would recommend this restaurant without hesitation.

Not far from Arc de Triomphe.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very cozy and elegant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I had lunch on a Sunday and i was very satisfied and full. I had seafood platter and boullabaise (menu of first and second course) with a glas of wine, and my husband had fish and we were both delighted.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Alright Food - Excellent Dessert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Coming from a country with excellent choices of seafood, I was kinda expecting more from La Maree. The seafood was fresh, but the tastes could yet be improved by some more spices from my opinion. However, the desserts were amazing!

The staff were very helpful and spoke good English.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Maree also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Maree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.