We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food & Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fregate

La Fregate
1 Rue du Bac, 75007 Paris, France (Tour Eiffel / Invalides)
01.42.61.23.77
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
La Fregate is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,391 of 13,202 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $34 - $56
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Food & Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The food was great, great window seat view , Nice atmosphere and nice Art Deco Theam.
this was a lucky Find after walking nerly all over paris to find somewere nice, i would highly reccomnd food was Fresh.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    106
    38
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice dinner on a Sunday night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We came across Le Fregate while walking from the Champs Elysee back to the Marais. With no prior research, it proved to be a pleasant surprise. We had a window table, looking out onto the street and, beyond that, the Seine and the Louvre. The interior of the restaurant is very traditional French and quite comfortable. Our waiter was charming; he knew enough English, and we enough French, to understand one another with the aid of an English menu.

My wife and I both ordered from the prixe fixe plat du jour. Appetizers were a tomato and mozzarella salad and traditional onion soup; my wife was particularly enthusiastic about the salad. Entrees were steak au poivre and veal blanquette, both very nice; my wife especially liked the pommes frites. Dessert was creme brulee and chocolate mousse, both very nice.

Le Fregate is worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
488 reviews 488 reviews
323 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
813 helpful votes 813 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Not far from Arc de Triomphe, a pleasant restaurant, extensive menu of parisian food and a good wine list, good service. Can sit outside under heaters and watch the world pass by. Recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A lucky find for us!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The location was perfect, we were walking from Arc de Triomphe to Notre Dame and wanted a bite of lunch. Service was wonderful and the food was great. There are two menus available, my son had the steak and frites, the poivre sauce was very nice. Husband and I enjoyed sandwiches, beer and wine. We would return, give it a try!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Conveniently situated. Good food…just good..not excellent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Anyone that could rate this place as excellent has not dined well in Paris.

Caters mostly to tourists....given its location. Nice setting, the food is fine and the price point is also ok. I went for a pretty standard (almost a stereotypical cold November day) Bistro meal.of Onion soup and cassoulet. The soup was a bit thin and underwhelming and I certainly have had better cassoulet back home but it was still good. I am in Paris and my expectations are high when I order pretty conventional stuff. Coffee and dessert were also passable.

Service was of a style one often gets when the majority of customers are tourists....not as good as when we were in different Paris venues with locals all around us or some of the higher end places...but still ok

Just average and you can ( and I have) do much worse in Paris but you can also do much better.. Would only return if the time, weather or convenience made it the best option....otherwise SO many other places to try

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fregate also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Fregate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fregate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.