We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tres' Chic, but---” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Fermette Marbeuf

La Fermette Marbeuf
5, rue Marbeuf, Paris, France (Champs-Elysees)
01 53 23 08 00
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
La Fermette Marbeuf is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,568 of 13,308 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French, Gastropub, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Champs-Elysees
Description: La Fermette Marbeuf 1900 restaurant in Paris just a few steps from the Avenue George V and the Champs-Elysees is also the shortest route into Belle Epoque Paris of a century ago. This jewel of a restaurant, dating from 1898, was rediscovered in the course of renovation thirty years ago and it must have been like opening King Tut's tomb. There are wonderful things here: Art Nouveau mosaic and stained glass sunflowers, peacocks, dragonflies, beautiful women, cast iron pillars, and a soaring glass ceiling. Chef Gilbert Isaac mainly sticks to French classic dishes, like chicken liver pate with onion marmalade, whole grilled seabass flamed in anise, and rhum babas. This is a hotspot for celebrity France to see and be seen.
Temple City, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Tres' Chic, but---”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

You can not beat the atmosphere and building itself (beautiful Art Nouveau features) . However, I felt the waiter was one of the snootiest waiter's I have ever had the "pleasure" of being waited on. This restaurant was recommended by the Director of our Viking Cruise. She was right, it is a nice restaurant, but after arriving the waiter assumed we all wanted the tasting menu (I guess it was because it was the cheapest item on the menu). I hate waiters who make assumptions. The food was just average, but very overpriced. We had to plead with everyone to get our bill. All in all this is just an average restaurant with an "uppity" attitude, full of themselves, with food that is just okay.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clients S, Responsable relations clients at La Fermette Marbeuf, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

thanks for sharing your review about La Fermette Marbeuf. We're very surprised by reading your comment as it doesn't reflect our waiter's professionnalism and sympathy. Please accept our apologizes. As for the food, we're truly sorry you didn't enjoy it much.

We hope to welcome you again to proove you that this experience was rather more an isolated incident than a generality.

Kind regards,

Chloé P.
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    220
    109
    75
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine coast
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Best Crepes Suzette in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We have been to this restaurant and Chez Julienne, every time we go back to Paris.
They are just lovely restaurants in the bistro style, not overly expensive but certainly charming and very French.
This restaurant presents in classic Art Nouveau style, it's full of ambience, make sure you book in advance and ask to be seated under the ornate and charming Dome!
Your coat is taken from you by a charming hostess on arrival, who takes you to your table.
The food is great, large serves, but the Crepes Suzette was amazing. Cooked before you by a flamboyant, immaculately dressed, but slightly disdainful male waiter( he was French after all) who took the preparation of the Crepes extremely seriously, with flair, lots of flambé and it was absolutely delicious.
We will return again when ever we are in Paris.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clients S, Responsable relations clients at La Fermette Marbeuf, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Kim,

many thanks for sharing your enthusiast and warm review about La Fermette Marbeuf. You're indeed right : booking to be able to have lunch or dinner under our glass roof dome is a great sugestion! We're glad to read you enjoyed your meal among us. We note your remark concerning our disdainful waiter and we convey it to our Director. Our team is normally very sympathetic and beeing French is not an apology!

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Chloé P.
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Mixed emotions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Went on recommendation of Paris native. Did not have reservations. We were seated in a non-descript corner. Asked if we wanted to start with Champagne. Why not? Meal was good ( strange barley side dish accompanied the lamb). Some lapse in service, but overall fine. Bill came and 3 glasses if champagne were charged at 58E?!?! Ouch. Going to bathroom before we left, we discovered the BEAUTIFUL Belle Époque dining room. Apparently reservations required.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clients S, Responsable relations clients at La Fermette Marbeuf, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Allison,

many thanks for writting your review about La Fermette Marbeuf. We're glad you enjoyed you dinner among us but note your dissatisfaction concerning the bill. Our waiter should have mentionned the price for no surprise. And you're absolutely right. It is indeed highyly recommended to book to be able to have dinner under our glass-roof-window room.

We hope to welcome you again someday.

Kind regards,

Chloé P.
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderfully Old-Fashioned”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Old-fashioned if there ever was. Why is it called Fermette (small farm) when every inch of paint and original 1900 detail screams of ornate sophistication? The extraordinary coupola was discovered by accident after the place had been opened and named. The renovation works carried out in the early eighties revealed behind a wall, a forgotten decorated structure which is worth lunch or dinner at this otherwise unremarkable restaurant. Enjoy this small, unspoilt, intact, Paris jewel of Art Nouveau. There are similar ones about the city but none so eyeable as this less grand but still very detailed feature. As for the tablecloths (and waiters), they are deliciously old-fashioned. Don't expect 'food' except for the Grand Marnier souffle, the house's specialty dessert, to end on a kind of nostalgic charm note.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clients S, Responsable relations clients at La Fermette Marbeuf, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

many thanks for sharing such a nice and true description of La Fermette Marbeuf! You're indeed very right at every point you mentionned! For the record it was during the Second World War that the glass-roof-window was sealed.

We hope to welcome you again someday.

Kind regards,

Chloé P.
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dry completely DRY chicken!!!?! Very pretentious vibe from certain staff.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Was disappointed. Took my mother here for Christmas Day dinner as we were in Paris for only a couple of days and decided to treat ourselves. We walked into the restaurant, just before a small group of people, and for some reason they were looked after and served first. Ok, so wasn't a big deal but we still found this quite rude. We ordered chicken, and a steak dish for the mains, and I actually couldn't believe how badly they were both cooked!! The chicken was very dry and tough - even I (whose cooking skills go as far as making toast) could cook that chicken better! I was just so shocked for the price they were charging! It was actually quite humorous for a high class place like this!! A street vendors' food would've tasted like a Michelin star meal compared to this!! The steak was ok but quite tough. Took a lot of chewing. Once again - below average. The waiter was polite and surroundings were was nice, but still wouldn't recommend unless you want to get dressed up and feel important, but don't care about unnecessarily overcooked food let-alone good quality food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clients S, Responsable commercial at La Fermette Marbeuf, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

many thanks for sharing your review about La Fermette Marbeuf. We would like to apologize for not making exceptionnal your Christmas day dinner. We note your remarks concering the service but we are also very surprised by the Bresse chicken and steak you described.

Our Director would like to discuss this with you and better understand what may have happened that day. Would you be so kind to give me your phone number and the best moment to contact you?

We wish you a happy new year.

Kind regards,

Chloé P.
Customer Relations Manager
chloe[a]blanc.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fermette Marbeuf also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Fermette Marbeuf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fermette Marbeuf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.