We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good soufflé, excellent service, would return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Recamier

Le Recamier
4,rue Recamier, Paris, France (Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon)
01 42 22 51 75
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,687 of 13,462 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good soufflé, excellent service, would return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

A local French friend who I trust recommended Le Camier as having the best soufflé in Paris. It did not disappoint! Wonderful soufflés for starters, entrees and desserts. We had a great evening and the service was cordial and very attentive. I definitely would return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    35
    14
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The perfect lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Ignore the attitude at this saint germain hot spot and you will have a great time. We were given a lousy table, I complained and got up to leave, when we were shown to a very nice table by one of the bookshelves. I ordered a soufflé with black truffles, what I got was a plain soufflé. I complained to the waiter who insisted that the truffles were too fine for my palate or nose. I put the attitude back to him and insisted, just as adamantly that there were none. The chef (who I think is also the proprietor) overheard, came to the table, sniffed my dish and then tasted it and agreed with me. He sent over 2 glasses of champagne and personally made me a special soufflé with truffles and fois gras. He came over to inspect my smile and brought over another carafe of Bordeaux. A bad start but a great finish.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of my Paris faves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Haven't been here in a few months, but headed to Paris again next week and dreaming of an all souffle lunch which starts with one of their heavenly vegetable and cheese souffles, such as asparagus, and ends with one of the soft as air dessert souffles.
I know to make a resy, but once I was in the area shopping right after the lunch rush and stopped in by myself for a mid afternoon dessert souffle and was warmly welcomed. The staff doesn't know me, and my french isn't great, but I've always been treated graciously and politely. Have never experienced the bad attitude that someone else mentioned, and I'm not one of the "in crowd" or regular locals.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Souffle overdose...worth the moment on the lips...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I never thought I would gladly have souffle for starter, main course and dessert, but I did, and it was worth every spoonful. The lunch crowd was subdued, the service was patient (we were a table of 10 tourists from all over the world, who congregated in Paris for the day!) and friendly. The chatter at the table noticeably disappeared once the dishes arrived, to be replaced with moans of delight and surprise. Many shared their souffles with their neighbours, many didn't want to share more than a spoonful. Truly delightful, if a little indulgent and rich. I would highly recommend to anyone. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Souffle Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

A souffle double header... started with a Henry IV-- which was a cheese souffle with a lemony, chicken sauce. I ended with the sea salt caramel. Friends had spinach roquefort, asparagus, chocolate. All I can say is wow. Silence permated the table as we dove into these puffs of taste sensations. Yummmm.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Recamier also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Recamier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Recamier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.