We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine fine restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Ourcine

L'Ourcine
92, rue Broca, Paris, France (Gobelins)
01 83 76 25 63
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,695 of 13,440 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $31 - $122
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Gobelins
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fine fine restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I was there few time always very satisfied very fine food well presented very new wage nouvelle cuisine
Excellent choice of wine
Friendly staffs
Small place with native French customers not a tourists trap
I recommend greatly

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    47
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
619 reviews 619 reviews
362 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 219 cities Reviews in 219 cities
364 helpful votes 364 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Heavy on meat dishes with just average fare. The food was neither memorable and was a bit pricey. Would avoid.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

It was the restaurant we chose on our first night in Paris and we were not disapointed. The food was great as well as the service.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Incredible food, lovely local feel. Proper French Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Went here for my birthday meal as we were only staying in the Latin Quarter. The €34 set menu is actually a bargain in the grand scheme of eating and drinking in Paris and the quality of food you get for your money, is incredible. Had the Chorizo and lentil soup for starter, Onglet for the main and the Praline, Raspberry and Mint Sorbert for desert. My partner had the Terrine with Fois Gras, Pork for main (which was truly amazing) and Vanilla Custard for dessert. The food was out of this world, service was quick and friendly and it seemed to be pretty much full of french people, which in my opinion is a good thing.

The restaurant had a lovely ambiance and felt very authentic but I think it could do with a little bit of moderising to fit in with the outstanding and really slick food. Also, I wasn't massively impressed with the wine list, they seemed quite pricey for what they were but that might be more French wine than the venue!

Best restaurant we went to in Paris, well worth the trip to the Latin Quarter just for it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I visited this restaurant for the second time last weekend with my boyfriend in Paris. It truly is a complete hidden gem and a real find. It is hidden away near Le Gobelins and is a quaint dining room which is not too small and not too big. You notice yourself surrounded by a number of locals which I feel is always a good find as well. The restaurant serves a 3 course set menu for 34 euros which is actually incredibly good value considering the standard of the food. I had an exceptional starter of spider crab ravioli followed by the most beautiful braised beef-so soft you could pull it away with your fork. The wine list is limited but the food more than makes up for it. A must for any keen foodie visiting Paris!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Ourcine also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to L'Ourcine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Ourcine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.