We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foodies” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Huitrier

L'Huitrier
16 Rue Saussier-Leroy | 16 Rue Saussier-Leroy 75017 Paris, Paris, France (Batignolles-Monceau)
+33 1 40 54 83 44
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
L'Huitrier is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,521 of 13,459 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $24 - $85
Cuisines: French, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Batignolles-Monceau
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Foodies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

If you are not a foodie, do not go. The freshest and best seafood is served here. It is not cheap so be prepared for a pricey dinner. You will not be disappointed.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    35
    8
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
the woodlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Really good seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

located in the 17th/8th and away from the tourist traps. located on a great little street that has a great brasserie up the street along with many small shops.

Food was really good. A go to place for high quality oysters. Fish was cooked perfect and the wine suggestion on the blackboard was excellent.

Paris restaurants are expensive in general and L'Huitrier offers great value.

Make reservations as the restaurant is small. We called the day of and got in at 8:30 pm.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Gem for those who love Oysters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I came across this little gem by sheer chance whilst wandering around the street market. It is No 16 rue Saussier-Leroy, 75017 Paris tel: 01 40548344. Sadly it is one of a dying breed with wonderful frseh fish and Oysters. Wines are good and the whole is very affordable, I had the best Dover Sole that I have eaten in ages follwoing on from a dozen Oysres freshly shucked. But it is a very typical French restaurant that I remember in the days when my father used to take us to paris. Friendly, nothing posh but it is certainly on my list of a must for paris. On your way there dwell in the market and just take in the wonders of French cuisine. It is very close to the Place de Wagram, a short walk from the Arc de Triomph and the Champs Elysee so it will fit in well with a trip. Great for a lunchtime break!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Excellent sea food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012 via mobile

This local small restaurant welcomes a crowd of sea food lovers, including oyster bar.
Very fresh products.
A little bit expensive though, but worth it because of it's freshness.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Excellent 'plateau de fruits de mer'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

If you like a 'plateau de fruits de mer' now and then like me then head to L'Huitrier near Place des Ternes and the Arc de Triomphe. You can choose from the display and they will open your oysters, clams, crack you tourteau crab, and set it over ice in a deep polystyrene dish, cover it with plastic wrap and put it in a large plastic bag to go, and presto you can go back to your hotel room on the other side of Paris and have a fabulous meal for a fraction of the price you'd pay in a restaurant.
The choice is very good and the oysters tend to be top shelf, no cheap imports there. I had 6 Belons No 1 and 6 Fines de Claire No 00, a tourteau and some bulots, oursin and praires all for 46 euros. Quality was superb.
I didn't eat in the restaurant dining room.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Huitrier also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to L'Huitrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Huitrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.