We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good, but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of L'auberge dab

L'auberge dab
161,Avenue Malakoff, 75016 Paris, France (Passy)
+33 1 45 00 32 22
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,242 of 13,398 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Passy
Kingswinford
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Quite good, but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Visited on December 10th for a business dinner with about 19 colleagues. The bread was cold and seemed a bit stale (yes, I like rustic bread but this was too rustic). For starters I have Oysters which were quite nice but a bit watery. Sirloin steak for main course was a nice cut but quite under cooked (medium) and much closer to rare - a consensus shared by most people eating this choice. Inside the place looks quite nice and typically French but up close a little manufactured although I'm told it's a well known place. The service was efficient but a little aloof. Overall ok, maybe quite good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    166
    61
    38
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

nice business meal! was only 30 quid each! nice and clean and waiter was good! short walk from tube and arc de triomphe

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuienkerke, Belgium
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Typical Paris, very busy, excellent food and service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Here it's always crowded, we went here several times. Even late at night you're welcome. But the food with fantastic oysters and typical frensh platters is always excellent and nice served. If possible make a reservation in the outside terrace, or in the verranda as a couple..it's more quiet. Enjoy the way of life as a Parisian !!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Expensive and worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Enjoyed the Chateaubriand with my wife. More than enough, and delightful. My wife had morel risotto for her starter and I had a fish soup. Yum. I found the wine reasonably priced. The service was attentive and our table was near the window, looking out on the street. A nice evening experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant, Great Business Menu!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have visited this restaurant twice in recent weeks. It can be very expensive unless you know a local fact: there is a 'business menu' only shown on the French language menu (but also in English on their website). For Euro 39 you get an aperitif, a choice of 3 starters, choice of 3 mains, a fantastic cheese selection, a choice of 3 deserts, coffee and 1/2 bottle of wine. The food is great, the service is good and I don't think you will find better value in the heart of Paris. The Restaurant always seems to be very busy, so booking recommended. It is situated right next to the Porte Maillot Metro station.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'auberge dab also viewed

Neuilly-sur-Seine, Hauts-de-Seine
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to L'auberge dab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'auberge dab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.