We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very reasonable priced good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atelier Maitre Albert

Atelier Maitre Albert
1,rue Maitre-Albert, Paris, France (Odeon / Saint-Michel)
+33 1 56 81 30 01
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Atelier Maitre Albert is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,270 of 13,200 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very reasonable priced good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We enjoyed the roast chicken and the set lunch menu is great!
The setting is modern trendy and yet warm enough as they have a fireplace!
What a nice restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    141
    85
    38
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Imaginative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Excellent food in a relaxed and warm setting with great service. I would describe the food as fresh and eclectic. They've reinvented French food to appeal to modern tastes. You get a great choice of steak and seafood. I'm always amazed at the price of French wine in Paris so we always try to show some restraint and not go overboard.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Drama Well-Served”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I rented an apartment in Paris in December 2012. This restaurant was near my apartment, so stopping in for an evening meal with a few friends who were visiting was logical. Moving beyond convenience...what a meal we had...with offerings from the rotisserie that satisfied everyone's hunger pangs and then some. We had a delightful server who guided my non-French speaking guests thru the evening. Delicious, Dramatic Setting, Delightful Service!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant with cozy fireplace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We spent the holidays in Paris and this restaurant was on the same street as the apartment we rented; this was actually our 2nd time there as we remembered it from a prior visit 4 years ago.

It is a lovely space with a fireplace; great for a cold December evening; we found the food to be very good; the service excellent; the wine suggestested for our dinner was perfect; all in all a very enjoyable experience; just as we had remembered from our last visit to Paris.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Rémy de Provence
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, disappointing food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

In search of a restaurant with a fireplace, I found Atelier Maitre Albert by doing loads of research prior to my weekend in Paris. Indeed, it is a nice concept - a restaurant specializing in rotisserie with a large working fireplace, and the interior and service don't disappoint. But sadly, the food does and is quite overpriced. A bland velouté de champignons or mushroom soup, a limp bowl of greens qui baignent (literally bathing) in what tastes like a bland bottled vinaigrette with sautéed chicken livers. Not even a nuance of inventiveness in this - could the vinaigrette have been more light, with perhaps some fresh herbs or shallot? Could the chicken livers been flambéed with cognac - ? Anything would have been better than this sad little salad I could have found at the office canteen. On to the main course. Again, rotisserie is a nice concept, but it remains just that - a concept. The jarret de veau, while tender, again was awash in brown sauce - and seemed almost like the industrial food one must be careful of in many tourist restaurants in Paris. The spinach and mushroom side - edible, but again, was it really better than the office canteen? Not really. At $43 US dollars for the main course, the food is frankly not worth it. The wine, a Sancerre rouge was quite good, but delivered to the table at room temperature. For a restaurant pretending to have a sommelier, this is unforgivable. Conclusion: even for a nice decor, and a good location, I would not recommend this restaurant. For $200 of less than mediocre food, even the nice service could not change my opinion.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atelier Maitre Albert also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Atelier Maitre Albert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atelier Maitre Albert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.