We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Restaurant in Paris! Don't Miss It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Astrance

L'Astrance
4 rue Beethoven, Paris, France (Passy)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #338 of 13,456 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Passy
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Restaurant in Paris! Don't Miss It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten at La'Astrance twice! Barbot is a genius he is creative and very innovative with textures and flavors. Each visit we had the five course tasting at lunch. The wine pairing was excellent and lots of fun, trying to guess the varietals.
The service was impeccable! I can not rate this restaurant any higher! It is not to missed when in Paris, if you can get a reservation. We find lunch to be a great option.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    41
    16
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worth every cent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was a treat during a recent trip to Paris with a friend. Having heard about the expensive cost of a dinner we got a booking for lunch (we booked at least two months in advance and got the last spot for some time).
Costing around 400euro for two of us I was expecting to be happy, full and leaving with a sense of amazement. L'Astrance didn't disappoint.
We were met with a wonderful atmosphere and on a cold rainy Paris day - it was the perfect end to our time in France.
Champagne and fine wine flowed freely from the instance we took our seats as we were taken through the menu and given all the time we wanted to ask questions. I must admit I think the waiters thought we were a bit mad - being the youngest and least reserved there. But they had fun with us - and never once let the quality of their service drop as we laughed and reminisced about our travels.
I enjoyed their sommelier most during our meal, as he lead us through a real experience of French wines and was totally absorbed in explaining each one and why it was selected for that course – truly wonderful.
The food was amazing. The surprise of what course was to come was even better - we waited with breathe that was bated for every next course and were only ever disappointed when it was over, and the fruit and madeleines were served signalling the ending of our experience. Because that was what lunch was at L'Astrance - an experience, not simply a meal. I highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Special treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

There is no doubt Pascal Barbot is a skilled chef. He has wonderful ability of introducing flavours/ingredients in to one dish and continuing the theme on to the next but with a twist. (we found a lot of citrus elements in most courses)

The very fact that Pascal decides mostly on the day what he will serve depending on produce, numbers, mood etc shows his brilliance and wonderful creativity. It is clear he has a true passion for what he does.

I had hoped I would get to try the famed 'Foie gras champignon' but as the menu is a surprise it did not feature for us on this particular lunch (we ordered 5 course menu L'astrance).

Overall although not all of the course were stand out, blow me away 3* there were three which certainly did! (crab,pigeon and citrus tart)

The staff are very attentive and Pascal and his team are definitely worth a visit for a special treat....if you can get a table that is!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Exceeds even New York five-starrers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Unquestionably the best (and most expensive) meal of my life. Imagine the service and presentation of Le Bernardin, the cozy, friendly atmosphere of Stone Barn, and the inventiveness and whimsy of Eleven Madison all rolled into one. In the immortal words of Ferris Beuller, "so choice. If you have the means, I highly suggest picking one up." Just try to finish your bread before another piece magically appears on your plate, or make it through the entire meal without demanding at least one recipe - I dare you.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“a friendly and cosy place to dine in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

the most difficult part is getting a booking given the restaurant's strong reputation, good value and small capacity. but dining there is truly an enjoyable affair - the staff is attentive and friendly, the food surprises in terms of flavours and taste and the price is reasonable for a 3-star michelin restaurant: 70 euros for a 3-course set lunch.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Astrance also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to L'Astrance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Astrance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.