We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not like the vegetable menu” 3 of 5 stars
Review of L'Arpege

L'Arpege
84,rue de Varenne | Dfsdf, 75007 Paris, France (Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon)
01 45 51 47 33
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #988 of 13,462 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $0 - $498
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon
Bangkok
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Did not like the vegetable menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I am a big fan of Allain Passart and had one of the best meal of my life in a previous occasion.
We met the Chef once again during his trip in Bangkok and he mentioned about the vegetable menu so we decided to give it a try while in Paris.
We were both disappointed by the vegetable menu.
The price however was very reasonable for lunch.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    77
    52
    39
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Christmas Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

As Christmas is about bounty and going all out we chose the right venue for our lunch. Of all the three star restaurants I have been to this was the first where I met the chef. It was also the most intimate and relaxed focusing on content rather than form. We were delighted many times by the food, the team and their wine choices. I had the veal head for my main course. Given that I contemplated a second helping reflects the utter skill of the chef. Go and enjoy !

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong kong
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Could do much better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

The passion and generosity of the chef does not translate into the service nor the ambiance of this place. First the dining room is small, so there is not much privacy and the table display has not been set up wisely. There is another room downstairs to avoid. Stay in the main room. Second the service is rigid, conventional, cold, far from the emotions of the man who runs the show in the kitchen.
For what regards food, you need to like vegetables as this is the speciality of the house. Old and new varieties. One starter is based on a couscous of veggies and the plate looks like a painting. Impressive. The night I went there, there was only veal as a meat. As I am a meat lover, I was disappointed. All together, you will pay in excess of 600 euros for 2, including wine (if you choose a bottle below 150 euros, which are not many). The tasting menu is at 420 euros. Fairly expensive and honestly it seems there is too much to eat. A la carte, if you are 2 and take different dishes they may offer you to split the dish into 2, so that you can taste all dishes. A very nice offer.
So in conclusion, worth it but could do much better. If only the chef could do the service and be the sommelier,...., this would be another experience.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Arpege continues its fine reputation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The atmosphere, the service and the innovation. A top chef in PAris and if one wants to be able to comment on any other top chef, one has to have eaten there.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wasn't sure what to expect...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Because the place was completely empty when we arrived. L'Arpege eventually filled up quite quickly for the lunch seating. My husband and I aren't massive fans of vegetables, but the dishes we ate left us speechless. There was a celery based dish that my husband ate (the name escapes me) that was divine; I had a truffle and scallop plate that was fantastic. If you dine here, expect huge portions. The waitstaff are not over-bearing and their choreography is something to be admired/take note of. Lastly, I also loved the L'Arpege knife as a parting gift. All and all a spectacular lunch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Arpege also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to L'Arpege? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Arpege, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.