We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not sure it worth” 3 of 5 stars
Review of L'Ambroisie

L'Ambroisie
9, Place des Vosges, Paris, France (Notre Dame / Marais)
+33 1 42 78 51 45
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,338 of 13,462 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Notre Dame / Marais
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“not sure it worth”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I regret I spent a night there. Long waiting time from a dish and another. Average food.Impressive wine list but what a price!
Very good cheese and desserts, but no worth the price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    25
    30
    15
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Still the best in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

L'Ambroise is our favorite of all the top end restaurants in Paris. Located in the beautiful Place des Vosge, it embodies everything that a gourmet haute cuisine restaurant should. The decor is formal, yet very comfortable. There are three or four rooms to be seated in, with tables nicely distanced from each other.

The menu changes with the seasons, but rest assured you will be eating the best of the best no matter the season. On the evening that we dined there, we had a meal consisting of langoustines, fois gras, scallops and cote de veau that was outstanding. Both my wife and I had a hard time choosing which course we thought was best. A delightful course of cheeses followed and we finished off sharing a delicious chocolate tarte. Add in the apertifs, wine, and digestif and we were quite full.

We can honestly say that our meal at L'Ambroise was an event, not just a dinner. We were treated very well by the very professional and attentive staff, who went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We even shared a few chuckles with them as they helped us with our french while ordering and we thank them for their patience.

Would we go back and would we recommend L'Ambroise? Yes, most definitely. It's not inexpensive, but you won't be disappointed.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Used to be one of the best spots in Paris on beautiful Place des Vosges.

Mediocre food, ridiculous prices and an uncomfortable atmosphere - what a shame, very dissapoining

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Memorable, yes, but for the wrong reason”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

As a Parisian, taking my wife to l' Ambroisie, the fabulous 3 Michelin star on the Place des Vosges in Paris, was long on my list of 'to dos'. No longer ! On a beautiful spring evening, we went there. Wonderful reception and service (but that is expected); beautifully stylish, classical French interior, all in tapestries, wooden floor, soft lighting but with strategically placed white orchid flowers bringing just the needed touch of modernity. We had a glass of Champagne each to start with and a couple "amuse-bouche" before sampling the starters: hot and cold of crayfish with mango for her, duck foie gras with pepper for me. Generous portions and tasty but far from mindblowing. Next, we shared a Navarin of Spring Lobster, which was sensational: the perfectly cooked lobster's rich white meat combining with a dark, meaty, jus reduction that worked really well. We then each had Supreme de volailles aux morilles, as morels were in season. This is where it started to go wrong: the dish was fine, but was there anything special about it ? No, not really, you could have eaten this dish in literally hundreds of restaurants in France and needn't pay EUR115 per person for it ! Desserts - a bitter cocoa tarte sablee and an almond and strawberry biscuit again were good, for sure, but outstanding ? No, not really. What was definitely outstanding, in an eye-popping, sense of the word was the bill: EUR 1015 for two, fully loaded, including one bottle of good (but by no means exclusive) white Chassagne Montrachet 1er Cru 2009 from Magnien and a (comparatively very good value) half bottle of Loire sweet Chenin Quarts de Chaume, to go both with the foie gras and the desserts.

So, memorable - yes - but for the wrong reason. If you are looking for a 3 star Michelin experience in Paris (and are prepared to pay the reasonable cost of this premium dining experience) then I would suggest that there are the 9 other candidates to choose from. Their setting may not be as impossibly romantic as L'Ambroisie's, but you will walk away with something left in your wallet.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect for special occasions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Perfectly prepared food as expected in a wonderful surrounding. The atmosphere was a bit too up tied for my taste but the headwaiter made up for the stiffness with his subtle french sense of humor.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Ambroisie also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to L'Ambroisie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Ambroisie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.