We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expecting more when they have one star” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Guy Savoy

Restaurant Guy Savoy
18, rue Troyon, 75017 Paris, France
01 43 80 40 61
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 13,382 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $36 - $143
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Restaurant Guy Savoy is an "inn for the 21st century," combining exquisite flavours and attentive service for a truly satisfying experience.The "Guy Savoy spirit" is built on the rigour of our teams, an insistence on traditional products, walls and tables adorned with art, and a wide selection of vintage wines.It makes our restaurant a magical place.
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Expecting more when they have one star”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The setting and the personell is pleasant, but they should not get away with serving dry reheated chicken and calling it a tasting menue. Sauces lacking any trace of taste, we are sorry to say, and the proprietor should be sorry too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    76
    43
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“For that special occasion.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Ok yes it’s expensive. Expect it and get over it! Let’s start with the staff. They are welcoming warm and attentive. They are there but not in your face and blend quietly into the background. The cuisine is what you would expect, superb! The chef's tasting menu, w/wine, was absolutely exceptional with a wonderful balance and variety. We went for a special evening after a great break in France (ending in Paris!) and this provided a truly memorable highlight. It has got to be experienced by anyone going to Paris.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Service 5 stars, food 4.5 stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was such a fun experience. The waitstaff is so incredible. This is what fine dining SHOULD be but usually isn't. We've only been to one or two other restaurants where service is this outstanding. Now... Food. Incredible. Delicious food. Started with a nice amuse bouche of foie gras and toast which was unexpected but nice. Then into the champagne... thank you very much. Ok so I wanted the artichoke soup and my wife wanted the beet salad so they did a little splitaroo and that worked out nicely. The soup was so delicious. Order it if you go. Amazing. Then the rest of the meal continued on in this same fashion... amazing food with unexpected surprises. The check wasn't so fun but who cares... it's worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An unforgetable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay in a quaint little family owned hotel almost directly across the lane way from Guy Savoy. We didn't realise this until we saw all of the chefs taking their cigarette breaks outside in the street. It was by sheer fluke that we managed to get a table for two the next day, as it's usually booked out weeks or months in advance. Our hotel consierge was astounded when we casually asked him to book us in for a night that week!
We were immediatey greeted and showed to our table in the quiet old-school business style setting. It was sophisticated and quiet but we were able to relax easily enough. The tables were set with funky modern plates and the attmosphere was anything but old-school business. We ordered the 12 course degustation menu, but chose our own wine with the help of the sommilier. We started with a glass of French champagne, of course.
The service and attention we were given was simply outstanding. It was easy to forget there were other diners in the restaurant because the waiters were like our own personal assistants! They seemed to appear out of nowhere without a sound and whispered "suggestions" on how to enjoy the food exactly the way the chef had intended. Each course came with matching bread from the bread trolley, complete with home made, matching butters. The presentation of each dish was incredibly different from the last, with cute and amusing little surprises that the waiters pointed out as they preformed their synchronised ninja-like table service.
The food was like nothing we'd seen or tasted before. We were amazed that we could identify every single herb/spice/ingredient in it, yet nothing over powered anything else. It's hard to explain, but it's just like the portions and flavours were precisely calculated to the point of balanced perfection. My fiance isn't keen on cooked fish or seafood (eats sashimi like there's no tomorrow though. Go figure!), yet he enjoyed every single course, except one that invloved prawns and caviar. He actually really liked one fish dish that consisted of a vanilla bean sauce. I've never seen him enjoy eating cooked fish.
Guy Savoy himself came out to speak to us, and each indivdual table, which was a nice touch. He was lovely.We were the youngest people there, which was a bit weird, but we put that down to the cost of dining there. With the award of three Michelin Stars, though, it was very much worth the price. We have never eaten so much food in one sitting in our lives! The menu included 12 courses, with match breads/butters, and a huge cheese trolley that consisted of cow and goat cheeses from around the world. There were 2 desserts courses PLUS a dessert trolley that displayed a huge variety of macaroons, biscuits, slices, cakes, truffles and petit fours. It was so hard to choose! We made absolute pigs of ourselves, and rolled out the doors 4.5 hours later. Thank God we only had to stagger 50 metres to our hotel!!
We would definitely go back there, if we get back to Paris again. It's not the type of place the average Joe would frequent, but for a special occasion, it's perfect.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Impeccable service, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had the lunch menu in Guy Savoy. Very nice service! Guy Savoy actually was at the door to greet us when we arrived and you will see him coming out many times during the meal to greet the diners. Starting with some foie gras toast as amuse bouche while we were reading through the menu. They suggested and allowed us to share the starters (split in two smaller portion for us) so we had the truffle soup (signature dish) and crab with beetroot. I have to say while they are good I don't find them particularly "wow"! However, when it comes to the main, as we have made a special request for a pre-order for this legendary main dish: "Volaille de Bresse en Vessie". The restaurant is very accomondating in accepting this request (with a supplement cost to our menu as this chicken is normally very expensive). When the chicken comes out it graps the attention of the corner of our restaurant instantly! The Bresse chicken (best chicken on earth) is very tender, with truffle stuffed underneath the skin in the chicken, with the juice that cooked the basmati rice that soaked up all the flavour that made this dish so great! (I would recommend everyone who have a chance to come to try to preorder this dish)! 3-stars michelin restaurant is generally very expensive in Paris, but going for the lunch (and throughout all these restaurants Guy Savoy probably offered the most valued lunch menu as they are dishes (with 5 options for each course) that were chosen from the a la carte!) should be the one to go for! While from what i heard the food might not be the best within the 3-stars resto, the service is certainly one of the best (very accomondating without being intruding!) and i totally recommend you to here! We paid close to €400 for two at the end but we were very happy!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Guy Savoy also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Restaurant Guy Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Guy Savoy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.